This is a general subject guide for graduate students or undergraduate students in upper division who are enrolled in the Chinese studies program, or for those who take classes and/or have research interest on pre- 1949 China (especially Sinology).
The website allows access to several digital collections, including archaeological excavation reports, Han bamboo slips, bronze rubbings and inscriptions, Ming and Qing archives, etc. Registration is needed for access.
The web site of the Center for Chinese Studies, National Central Library of Taiwan provides access to several special collections databases, and has links to Chinese studies related websites from across the world.
This website has bibliographical information on new publications and electronic indexes relating to Chinese studies, biographical information of Sinologists, scholarly discussion forums, etc. It is a good online source for catching up with recent scholarship in China.
This is the website of the Research Society of Qin Han History. It has information on new publications, research surveys, bibliographies, book reviews, and databases on Qin and Han history. Registration is required access its special databases.
This website is maintained by the Society On the Study of Excavated Early Chinese Manuscripts. It is under the directorship of Yuasa Kunihiro 湯浅邦弘 at Osaka University. The website provides a regular newsletter, reports on the society's archaeological digs and visits to Chinese universities and helpful introductions to new excavated or discovered texts.
The website has a bibliography-in-progress of works in Western languages on the period of Chinese history between the end of the Han dynasty and the Sui reunification (220-589), a searchable Six Dynasties tombs database and back issues of the journal of Early Medieval China. Subscription is needed to access the journal.
This website was created by Prof. Liu Zenggui of the Academia Sinica. Although the website was not updated after 2007, it contains useful resources for the study of Chinese, Taiwanese and global history.
The National Library of China selected 275 rare books from its holdings and made them freely available for viewing online. The titles were all written by Song Dynasty authors. Some editions were imprinted during the Song and Yuan Dynasties.
This website focuses on studies of Ming and Qing fiction. Some studies can be downloaded from the site after users register as a member. The website also has book reviews and an index of the journals 红楼梦学刊 and 明清小说研究.
This project was developed by the Chinese University of Hong Kong, with contribution from Peking University, Fudan University and East China Normal University. It has listed about 100 modern writers and created files for more than 60 of them. These files include the biographies of writers, a list of their works and secondary resources about them.
A website developed by the Academia Sinica. It focuses on the burial culture of the Han Dynasty. The site has images of excavated items, murals, virtual tombs, and research tools (chronicles, maps and glossary).
This website was developed by the Institute of Archaeology, Chinese Academy of Social Science. Progress on research, archaeological methods and trends, resources and publications on the site are constantly updated.
The National Museum of History (Taiwan) digitized various artifacts, paintings, calligraphy and documents that were held in the museum. 19 categories of antiquities can be viewed online with fine images.
The Palace Museum (Taiwan) developed this database to make its collection of Chinese calligraphy and paintings available for online viewing by researchers and the general public. 故宮書畫典藏資料檢索 allows users to search for items by author, name, dynasty, type of work, subject or item number.
The SAT Daizōkyō Text Database Committee has opened its data for public use with the full approval of Daizō Shuppan Kabushiki Kaisha, the original publisher of the Taishō Shinshū Daizōkyō. It is easy to browse chapters or search full-text by Chinese characters. This website is maintained by Kyoto University.
This is the homepage of The Study and Creation of Buddhist Lexicographical Resources project, and the website is built and maintained by the Digital Archive Division, Dharma Drum Buddhist College (DDBC). The website has powerful tools for researching Buddhism.
DDBTC is dedicated to collecting and constructing multi-lingual Tripitaka catalogues. Through key words searching users will conveniently acquire comprehensive information on various editions and versions of Tripitaka catalogues, and links to the corresponding full-text.
This project digitizes images of canonical Tibetan Buddhist collections, such as the Kangyur and the Tengyur and makes them available for online viewing. It includes digital images related to Indo-Tibetan medicine.
A database created by the Hong Kong Baptist University Library. It includes scanned images from 36 rare scripts that were written by missionaries or scholars from the late Qing to the Republican Periods. They are either annotated Bibles or research works on Christianity.
This site is managed by the Ricci Institute of the University of San Francisco. It focuses on the history of Christianity in China. Archives, bibliographies, institutions and biographies on Christianity in China can be searched.
This online project is developed by the Kingdom Business college in Beijing/China and Globethics.net in Geneva/Switzerland. This collection has already over 35'000 carefully selected full text documents on Chinese Christianity and culture and a detailed classification tree. It is the fruit of the cooperation of many leading institutions on Chinese Christianity.
This is the database of Tokyo University. It was created based on 鈴木敬主's 中國繪畫總合圖錄 and the 續編. The website is an union catalogue of ancient Chinese paintings that are held all over the world except for the National Palace Museum.
The Freer Gallery of Art possesses one of the most important collections of Chinese paintings outside of Asia. Its holdings from the Song and Yuan dynasties (10th–14th centuries) are particularly significant. The collection includes an extraordinary group of eighty-two paintings, illustrating a range of themes, compositions, stylistic conventions and three independent works of calligraphy.
This website allows visitors to search in chronicles of artists and artistic events. It is an ongoing web project. From the home page of the website users can also find research tools and biographical sources.