Skip to main content
Library of Congress Library Chinese Maps Collection
The Library of Congress has a collection of 5,174 maps from China, 373 of which have been digitized and made available for viewing online. They are dated from 1500 to the present.
美國國會圖書館典藏之中國相關地圖文獻查詢系統 The Query System for China Related Map Collections from the Library of Congress
This database was created by the Academia Sinica, based on the digitization project that they did for the Library of Congress. About 70,000 maps have been scanned and 14,058 maps are searchable and available for viewing from this database.
Atlas of Mutual Heritage
The Atlas of Mutual Heritage is a database of information, maps, drawings, prints and paintings of locations related to the Dutch East India Company (Verenigde Oost-Indische Compagnie, VOC) and the Dutch West India Company (West-Indische Compagnie, WIC). It contains 148 images of Chinese maps.
This is a map project developed by the Academia Sinica. It contains thousands of Chinese maps dated before 1949, not only held in Taiwan (most of them were taken to Taiwan before 1949), but also maps held in the Academy of Science, Japan. It is based on the book 近史所檔案館藏中外地圖目錄彙編. All maps in the database can be viewed online.
Japanese Historical Maps
The East Asian Library of UC Berkeley has a Japanese Historical Map Collection, which contains about 2,300 early maps of Japan and the World, including old maps of China.
Asian Maps Collection
The Asian Maps Collection of the University of Southern California brings together a range of graphic representations of East and Southeast Asia, their features, localities and history. Included in this collection are some valuable old Chinese maps that have been digitized.
This is a digitized collection of rare maps on China (mostly western maps) that were acquired by the Toyo Bunko in 1917.
Virtual Shanghai: Maps Collection
Virtual Shanghai started as a project focused on Shanghai historical photographs. It began in 2000 as a collaborative project between the Institut d’Asie Orientale (CNRS-University of Lyon) and the Center for Chinese Studies of UC Berkeley. The website also contains a maps collection, which has 758 Shanghai related maps.
中国历史地理信息系统 China Historical GIS (Geographic Information System) (CHGIS)
The main objective of the CHGIS project is to create a flexible tool, in the form of a documented database of places and administrative units in China, which can be used to investigate any sort of geographically specific data related to the country. The main editorial team of the project is based in the Institute for Chinese Historical Geography at Fudan University..
中華文明之時空基礎架構 Chinese Civilization in Time and Space
This system consists of three major components: basic geospatial materials, WebGIS integrated application environment and thematic information. The fundamental base maps are based on 谭其骧's 中国历史地图集 (The Historical Atlas of China).
中國歴史地圖集 = The historical atlas of China
Call Number: G2306.S1 C46 1982 v.1-8
Publication Date: 1982-1987
This is the best Chinese language introduction to ancient maps from China, including archaeological discoveries.
中国古代地图集 An Atlas of ancient maps in China
Call Number: various call numbers
Publication Date: 1990-1997
The set includes an atlas of China from the Warring States period to the Qing Dynasty. It also has an atlas of ancient cities.
This union catalog of Chinese gazetteers was developed based on 中國地方志聯合目錄 (1985), which lists more than 8,200 titles of gazetteers printed before 1949. It also contains titles listed in 中國地方志總目提要 and new gazetteers published after 1949.
西安历史地理信息系统 Xi'an Historical Geographical Information System
This is an interactive GIS map database of Xi'an in different historical periods. It is currently available as a test version. Users have to register to access the system. The database displays layers of historical maps of Xi'an, during the Han, Sui, Song, Five Dynasties, Yuan, Ming and Qing periods.