Skip to main content

Evaluating Scientific Evidence in Medicine IB 119: Health Statistics

Health Statistics

Bureau of Justice Statistics
Data published annually on criminal victimization; populations under correctional supervision; and mortality in prisons. Periodic data series include administration of law enforcement agencies and correctional facilities; characteristics of correctional populations; and special studies on other criminal justice topics.

CDC Data and Statistics
Quick links to much of the CDC's data, including surveillance, various databases, and laboratory information.

CDC Wonder
Access to a variety Center of Disease Control reports, guidelines, and dozens of text-based and numeric databases, including vital statistics, environment, population, disease and disability, immunization, behavior and health, injuries, occupational health.

CensusScope
An easy-to-use tool for investigating U.S. demographic trends by the Social Science Data Analysis Network (SSDAN) at the University of Michigan. With graphics and exportable trend data, CensusScope is designed for both generalists and specialists.

Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, Research, Statistics, Data and Systems
Links here to statistics, trends, reports and data related to Medicare and Medicaid services, such as actuarial studies, a Medicare Health Outcomes survey, Medicare enrollment reports, and public quality indicator and resident reports.

Comprehensive Epidemiologic Data Resource
Health studies of Dept. of Energy contract workers and environmental studies of areas surrounding DOE facilities. These studies primarily use death certificate information to identify excess deaths and patterns of disease among workers to determine what factors contribute to the risk of developing cancer and other illnesses. In addition, many of thestudies have radiation exposure measurements on individual workers.

Data Planet
Provides easy access to a wide variety of economic, social, political, and marketing indicators.

DataFerrett (US Census Bureau)

A data analysis and extraction tool to customize federal, state, and local data. You can develop an unlimited array of customized spreadsheets and then turn those spreadsheets into graphs and maps without any additional software.

Data.gov

Data.gov is the home of the U.S. Government’s open data. You can find Federal, state and local data, tools, and resources to conduct research, build apps, design data visualizations, and more.

FastStats A to Z
Quick access to public health statistics organized alphabetically. Includes links to publications that include the statistics presented, to sources of more data, and to related web pages.

HCUPNet
A portal to health statistics and information on hospital stays at the national, regional, and State level. Generate tables and graphs.

Health Indicators Warehouse

Includes pre-tabulated national, state, and local health indicators, reflecting multiple dimensions of population health, health care, and health determinants. Contains supporting descriptive data to facilitate understanding and use of indicators, links to evidence-based interventions, may be searched by topic, geography, or initiative.

Health, United States, 2013 From the National Center for Health Statistics, CDC.
An annual report on trends in health statistics. The report consists of two main sections: chartbook contains text and figures that illustrate major trends in the health of Americans; and trends tables section for detailed data tables. Prior editions back to 1975 are online.

Historical Census Browser

The data and terminology presented in the Historical Census Browser are drawn directly from historical volumes of the U.S. Census of Population and Housing. On this site you can examine state and county topics for individual census years and over time, you can also generate maps of selected data.

Injuries, Illnesses, and Fatalities (Bureau of Labor Statistics)

Provides data on the number and rates of injury and illnesses by industry, details on the injured worker, nature of the disabling condition, and the event resulting in the disabling condition, and details on fatal incidents.

National Center for Health Statistics (CDC)

NCHS is the Federal Government's principal vital and health statistics agency. NCHS data systems include data on vital events as well as information on health status, lifestyle and exposure to unhealthy influences, the onset and diagnosis of illness and disability, and the use of health care.

NCHS Interactive Tables and Databases

National Center for Health Statistics provides researchers with important health data through specialized data access tools and resources, including microdata, tables, and reports.

ProQuest Statistical Insight Search statistics produced by the U.S. government, major international and intergovernmental organizations, professional and trade organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, state government agencies, and universities.

Statista
A statistics portal that integrates data from reliable sources on thousands of topics.

Statistical Abstract of the United States
A comprehensive collection of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.

U.S. Census Bureau
Publications, software, maps, and data sets. QuickFacts get state, county, and city demographics (including age, race/ethnicity, income, residence, education), business information, and much more.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.