Skip to main content

Evaluating Scientific Evidence in Medicine IB 119: Evidence-Based Medicine Resources

What is?

What is evidence-based medicine and evidence-based practice ?  (EBM)

It is the practice of using evidence from clear, well conducted research which allows decision-making based on systematic review of literature and medical evidence.  Evidence based decision are not based on opinions or beliefs.

Systematic reviews of published research studies is a major part of the evaluation of particular treatments. The Cochrane Collaboration is one of the best-known programs that conducts systematic reviews.

Resources, use Article Databases too

Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library is a regularly updated electronic library designed to provide the evidence needed for healthcare decision making. The Cochrane Library contains the following databases:
The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
The York Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE)
The Cochrane Controlled Trials Register
The Cochrane Review Methodology Database

Micromedex Solutions
Evidence based information about drugs, toxicology, diseases, acute care, and alternative medicine.
Click on Micromedex 2.0 to search across multiple databases for "Evidence based information from Micromedex. This includes all referenced information about drugs, toxicology, diseases, acute care, and alternative medicine you need to make informed clinical diagnosis and treatment decisions." Can also search specific tools, such as drug identification, drug interactions, drug comparison, and formulary. Help is available by clicking on the User Guide link at the bottom of the page. mobile Micromedex 2.0 provides web-based access for mobile browsers on iPhone/iPad, Blackberry, and Android. In addition, mobileMicromedex is downloadable to Palm OS and Pocket PC.

Natural Medicines.
Evidence-based information on complementary and alternative medicine. Includes databases on food and supplements, health and wellness, medical conditions, brands and manufacturers, genomics and proteomics, and environmental and animal health, among others. Provide evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies. Contains three sub-databases: Herbs & supplements, condition center, and alternative modalities.

PubMed Bookshelf
Add limits for years, subject, 

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.