Skip to main content

Food & the Environment: Books, eBooks

Geography 130

Books and more

Electronic books, print books and journals are cataloged in OskiCat and Melvyl, some are in publisher packages or special subject collections.

Find books, ebooks, journals

Start Your Search NEW!  [UC Berkeley Discovery Tool] Guide to Start Your Search: What's Included.

Oskicat [UC Berkeley]

  • Search for books, e-books, journals, dissertations, reports, by topic, author or series
  • Renew your books
  • Find course reserves
  • Request items from other libraries, from storage, or that are checked out by other patrons
  • Refine your search to a specific library, available items or online items.

Melvyl  [UC, selected UCB libraries not in Oskicat]

  • Search for books, ebooks, journals, dissertations, and articles from UCB-subscribed journals
  • Search libraries worldwide
  • Request items UCB does not own, create and save lists, automatically format citations.

Google Scholar

  • Search articles, books, preprints, reports and more.  (Reminder: specialized databases will provide depth to your search).
  • Use with UC-eLinks to access the full text of many articles; click on "Scholar Preferences", click on Library Links for "Berkeley", and choose "University of California Berkeley - UC-eLinks."
  • Listings may include links to related articles and to other sources that cite the item.

Google Books

  • Search the full text of books Google has scanned
  • Read the full text of most out-of-copyright books
  • View previews or snippets from many books still in copyright
  • Find in a library link will locate the book if it is owned by UC Berkeley

Search tips

In the Library catalogs or indexes: enter keywords:
peanuts, legumes, history, peanut crop business reports, use brand names -  Jiffy, look for advertising jingles, nutritional content, global impact on health and climate

use truncation or wildcard settings (*)  for variant word endings:
example:  pea* = peanut, peanuts, peas
subject searches: 
    peanut butter or nut and butter
    peanut industry
    cooking, American
    food habits - California
    food habits - history
    food - history

broaden or narrow your searches: combine keywords
limit to language: english, advanced search:  cookery chines, or  language: english
Limit to years of publication: after 1945 before 1990

Search the name of a person or organization, as an author or topic:
author: Waters, Alice
author: united states food and drug administration

Try these OskiCat features:

  • limit your search to a type of material (DVDs) or a library location (Doe Reference)
  • save items to a list you can e-mail/download/print
  • Use Request to recall or page a book
  • Use Request for items from storage (NRLF)
  • view a list of items you have checked out
  • send call numbers to your cell phone
  • receive alerts of new items that match your search terms ("preferred search")

Dissertations & Theses

The ProQuest Dissertations and Theses database indexes graduate dissertations from over a thousand graduate school and universities, and includes full-text access to dissertations published since 1997. The database also includes full-text dissertations from the University of California from:

  • September 1962 - December 1970 and
  • December 1975 - present

If you can't find a specific UC Berkeley dissertation on ProQuest, go to Oskicat and choose to limit your search to "Dissertations/Theses" using the dropdown on the far right of the search page:

If you're not on campus, and you are not a UC Berkeley student, faculty or staff member, you may be able to access UC Berkeley dissertations for a fee from ProQuest's Dissertation Express or, for items in our collection, using our photoduplication services.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.