Skip to main content
Selected Article Databases
Search in the following selected databases to locate article citations and abstracts, conference papers, technical data and reports.
Click on the UC-eLinks button to access the full text of the article (if Berkeley has a subscription).
Selected Article Databases
- Agricola: Agriculture, biotechnology, ecology, economics; journal articles and USDA reports. US Focus.
Coverage:1970 - present.
- Biosis previews: Comprehensive biological sciences database; indexes 6000+ peer-reviewed journals.
Coverage: 1926- present.
- Business Source complete: Full text articles on management, economics, finances, accounting, detailed company profiles for top companies.
Coverage: 1965 - present. Updated daily.
- CAB Abstracts & Global Health: Indexes agricultural literature & 100+ countries. Covers biodiversity, biotechnology, animal science, nutrition & food technology, crop production, natural resources, forestry, environmental policy, & rural development.
Coverage: 1910- present.
- Embase: Search biomedical literature, systematic reviews and researching evidence-based medicine.
Coverage: Dates vary.
- Agriculture and Environmental Sciences: includes U.S. Environmental Impact statements, regulations and policies.
Coverage: 1981 - Present.
- PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service): Public policy, politics, economics, and social issues worldwide, indexes books, journals, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports.
Coverage: 1915 - present.
- PubAg - the National Agricultural Library's search system for agricultural information. It is available for free on the Internet at: http://pubag.nal.usda.gov/.. contains full-text articles relevant to the agricultural sciences, along with citations to peer-reviewed journal articles.
- PubMed: Use UCB access for UC eLinks to full text articles. Access to citations from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, other journals in the field of medicine and life sciences.
Coverage: dates vary.
- Scopus: Indexes journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences and more.
- Web of Science: Indexes the arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences, search of footnoted citations.
Coverage: 1900- present.
Selected General Article Databases
- Academic Search Complete
Indexes publications in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian and Portuguese; full-text is available.
Coverage: 1865 - present
- Alternative Press Index
Progressive, radical, and left North American magazines, newsletters, and journals. Approximately 90% of publications included are not indexed elsewhere. Interfaces available for French, Spanish, Japanese, and Chinese.
Coverage: 1991 - present. Alternative Press Index Archive coverage: 1969 to 1990.
- America: History and Life
Includes all key English-language historical journals; selected historical journals from major countries, state, and local history journals; and a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities.
- Historical Abstracts
Indexes over 2,000 journals, historical book reviews and dissertations, published worldwide about all aspects of world history (excluding US and Canada).
Coverage: some 1450 - present, Articles covered were written from 1954 to the present.
Includes scholarly journals with access to more than 2 million articles. JSTOR is an archive which means that current issues (generally the most recent 3-5 years) of the journals are not yet available.
Coverage Dates vary.