One of the most important research section of the library web site is the Library Electronic Resource Finder. This is the library directory of databases and other information resources, organized by subject (e.g. political science) type (e.g. encyclopedias) as well as other categories. It also contains a link to a comprehensive listing of library e-journals.
The latest news from the UC Berkeley Libraries.
Start Your Search. Books, ebooks, journal articles, JSTOR, and other content rolled into one integrated library platform. Does not include content from many business databases, numeric data, and content from Proquest.
Oskicat. UC Berkeley libraries catalog. Includes records for most UCB library materials, including books, e-books, journal and e-journal titles, films and videos, maps, archival materials, and much more.
Eldis. Online information service providing free access to relevant, up-to-date and diverse research on international development issues from thousands of publishers.
Google Scholar. Functions as both a key word database for articles and books. It automatically connects to select licensed content held by the UC libraries.
Melvyl. Catalog for all UC Campus libraries, including selected libraries on campus not in Oskicat, e.g. the Boalt Law Library.
Project Muse. Digitized journals and books in the humanities and social sciences. Topics include history, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and many others.
Cambridge Core Ebooks.Selection of current e-books from Cambridge University Press
Proquest Ebook Central. Our largest e-book collection, with titles on a wide range of subjects. Find them in OskiCat (keyword ebrary) or search the ebrary website directly.
JSTOR. Full-text access to scholarly journals and now books from a wide range of disciplines. Current issues from journals (the most recent 3-5 years) are generally not available in JSTOR.
Google Books. Search the text of books, view previews in copyright, and read full text of out-of-copyright books. To find a copyrighted book, use the "find in a Library" link to locate the book at UC Berkeley.
World Bank e-Library. Full-text World Bank publications from mid 1990's to present. Topics covered include: economics and finance, public policy, education, international development, technology, poverty, gender, and more.
Citation management tools help you manage your research, collect and cite sources, and create bibliographies in a variety of citation styles. Each one has its strengths and weaknesses, but any are easier than doing it by hand!
It's always good to double check the formatting -- sometimes the software doesn't get it quite right.
You can access UCB Library resources from off campus using one of two simple methods:
After you make a one-time change in your web browser settings, the proxy server will ask you to log in with a CalNet ID or Library PIN when you click on the link to a licensed resource. See the setup instructions, FAQ, and Troubleshooting pages to configure your browser.