Skip to main content

Sociology of Development and Globalization: Statistics & Data

International Statistics and Data

AidData - Open Data for International Development.   Powerful and open source research and innovation lab that seeks to improve development outcomes by making development finance data more accessible. 

China Data Online. Focuses on economic statistics of China, arranged by regions and categories. Includes reports on China's macroeconomic development and statistical databases about China's population and economy at the county and city levels.

Data Planet. Provides fast and easy one-stop shopping to more than 5.3 billion (and growing) data points from licensed and public domain datasets. Sources of data include local, state and international governments and organizations.

Exploring Trade Data. Links to data visualizations and tables on international trade data. Includes:

FAOSTAT. Extensive data on agriculture, food supply, food security, prices, commodities, forest products, and fisheries from the FAO.

Global Health Observatory Data Repository. Statistical and epidemiological data from the World Health Organization (WHO). Statistics by disease and condiation (HIV/AIDS, Tuberculosis, epidemics) as well as information on health systems, nutrition. injuries and violence, environmental health, tobacco and more. 

Human Development Report Statistics. Statistics from the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP). Links to the text of national human development reports from over 250 countries and regions.

Indiastat.  Statistical data from Indian government and private sources: finance, agriculture, health, housing, transportation, and many other areas. Data is derived from documents, reports and policies from the states and national government of India. a. Userid and password required. Please inquire at any Library Reference Desk for assistance.

Laborsta. International labor statistics from 1979 to the present on employment, earnings, wages, strikes and more. 

Official Statistics on the Web. Access to social, economic and general data from official government sources.  Includes statistical offices, central banks and government agencies. Features a good subject list.

OECD iLibrary. Leading International Organization for foreign aid data. Includes International Development Statistics as well as statistical databases on financial aid to developing countries. Choose the "international development" link on the statistics section.

Statista. A statistics portal that integrates data from reliable sources on thousands of topics. Good place to start - click on the source information to find the agency responsible for creating the data.

UNCTADStat. From the United Nations Conference on Trade & Development - data on investment and 

UN Data. Wide range of economic, social, cultural, and demographic indicators: population, environment, health, economics, technology, trade, refugees, and more.

WITS Trade Data Trade breakdowns by country and product. Joint effort between the World Bank, United Nations and World Trade Organization.

U.S. Overseas Loans and Grants (Green Book). Loans and grants from the US government each fiscal year by purpose and country.

World Bank Data Catalog. Rich source of research data for numerous aspects of international development. Highlights and related sources are listed below but are not exhaustive. 

World Income Inequality Database. Information for over 140 countries on income inequalities at both cross-country and time series levels over the period 1950-98, with a focus on the period since 1980. See also the University of Texas Income Inequality Project.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.