Skip to main content

Sociology of Development and Globalization: Articles

Regional Databases

Absees Online Database. Citations to research on Eastern Europe, Central Europe, and the former Soviet Union published in the US and Canada.

Africa-Wide Information. Database covering journals, magazines, newspapers, broadcasts, books and more on all aspects of Africa including politics, history, economics, literature, music and natural sciences. 

Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS). Searches journal articles, books, and conference proceedings worldwide on the countries, histories, and cultures of East, South, and Southeast Asia.

Index Islamicus. Indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Over 3,000 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews.

RedALyC: Red de Revistas Cientificas de America Latina y El Caribe. Collection of open access scholarly journals in the social sciences and other fields, published by more than 500 institutions in Ibero-American countries.

SciELO: Scientific Electronic Library Online. Collection of open access scholarly online journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities in the Global South, particularly Latin America and the Caribbean. 

History Databases

Bibliography of British and Irish History. Covers historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available.

Bibliography of Slavery and World Slavery. Searchable database of references to scholarly works in all disciplines and western European languages on slavery and slaving throughout the world.

Historical Abstracts. Indexes over 2,000 journals, as well as historical book reviews and dissertations, published worldwide about all aspects of world history (excluding US and Canada) from 1450 to the present. 

JSTOR. Includes over 1000 scholarly journals with access to more than 2 million articles. JSTOR is an archive which means that current issues (generally the most recent 3-5 years) of the journals are not yet available.

Periodicals Archive Online.  An online periodical archive that provides access to some 475 digitized journals in the humanities and social sciences. A sister database, Periodicals Index Online, provides additional indexing for articles in over 4,700 periodicals

Project MUSE.Topics include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and many others

Globalization and Development Databases

Agricola. Books, journal articles, audiovisual materials, and government publications in agriculture, agricultural economics, entomology, horticulture, nutrition and more.

Cab Abstracts. Covers environmental pollution, nutrition, crop production, natural resources, forestry, environmental policy, and rural development. Also includes an integrated Global Health database.

EconLit. Comprehensive index to journal articles in economics. Lists books and dissertations, and articles within 'collective works' (books consisting of collections of essays or papers). 

Eldis.  Materials on development, policy, practice and research.  Thousands of documents as well as resource guides and country profiles. 

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS). Articles, books, chapters, and reviews in economics, political science, and other social sciences worldwide.

JSTOR. Over 1000 scholarly journals with more than 2 million articles. JSTOR is an archive which means that current issues (generally 3-5 years) are not yet available. 

Humanities International Complete. Indexes thousands of journals, books and other published sources from around the world, with full text of many journals in the humanities broadly defined (don't overlook this one).

Left Index.  A complete guide to the alternative, radical, and leftist literature, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship.

PAIS International. Indexes books, journals, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, and web sources related to public policy, politics, economics, and social issues worldwide.

ProQuest Social Sciences. Interdisciplinary database for the social sciences. Includes EconLit, International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS), Sociological Abstracts, Worldwide Political Science Abstracts and more.

Sociological Abstracts. Indexes journals, books, dissertations, and reviews in the social sciences on sociological topics as well as selected anthropology, criminology, demography, law, social psychology, and urban development.

Women's Studies International. Indexes books, journals, magazines, and other resources related to research and commentary on women and women's issues, feminism, and gender.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.