Skip to main content

Political Economy 150: Women and Development in Transitional China: Journals & Articles

Selected Databaes

Women's Studies International. Indexes women's studies, women's issues, and gender-focused books, book chapters, journal and magazine articles, dissertations, and reports from throughout the world. 

Bibliography of Asian Studies. Contains records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide.

China Academic Journals Full-text Database 中国期刊全文数据库​. Full-text journal database covering the contents of 9,800 journals published in China. ​

EconLit. Most comprehensive index to scholarly journal articles in economics. Lists books and dissertations, and indexes articles within 'collective works' (books consisting of collections of essays or individual papers). 

Family and Society Studies WorldwideBooks, scholarly journals, magazines, reports, proceedings, statistics, dissertations, and websites worldwide related to Social Science research about the family and society.

Google Scholar. Lists journal articles, books, and other content. Some listings include links to related articles and other sources that cite the item.  Includes content from free resources as well as subscription resources (such as UCB licensed journals). 

JSTOR. Includes over 1000 scholarly journals with access to more than 2 million articles. JSTOR is an archive which means that current issues (generally the most recent 3-5 years) of the journals are not yet available.

IDEAS: Economics and Finance Research. Free database on economics. Offering citations to thousands of working papers, books and book chapters, and journals articles.

Proquest Social Sciences. Interdisciplinary metasearch in the social sciences: includes EconLit, International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS), PAIS, Sociological Abstracts, Worldwide Political Science Abstracts and more.

Social Science Research Network (SSRN).  Association of virtual research networks, including one in Economics(ERN). Includes a database of working papers as well as professional announcements, job openings, and more.

Web of Science.  Indexes and provides article citation links over 8,000 of the leading journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences, providing searching of footnoted citations.

Selected Journals

Asian Affairs: An American ReviewAnalyses of political, economic, international affairs, and security issues in East Asia, Southeast Asia, South Asia, Central Asia.

Asian SurveyComprehensive retrospective of contemporary international relations within South, Southeast, and East Asian nations.

China and World Economy‎.  Provides a unique Chinese perspective on international issues in economics that are related to China.​

China Economic JournalIntroduces readers the latest developments in the Chinese economy and government economic policies.

The China Journal.  cutting-edge source of scholarship, information and analysis about China and Taiwan. Provides coverage of anthropological, sociological, and political science topics.

China QuarterlyCovers all aspects of contemporary China  andTaiwan, including sociology, business/economics, geography, history, international affairs, law, and politics​.

The Chinese EconomyAnalytical account of the economic issues about China with original works written by scholars over the world on the changes of Chinese economy for the past 40 years.

Eurasian Geography and Economics. Original papers on geographic and economic issues in China, Russia, India, European Union, and other regions in the Eurasian realm.

Feminist Economics. Peer-reviewed journal that provides an open forum for dialogue and debate about feminist economic perspectives.

Journal of Contemporary China.  Provides information about contemporary Chinese affairs including economics, political science, law, business, international relations, sociology and other social sciences.​

Journal of Comparative EconomicsLeads orientations of research in comparative economics, especially the transition from socialism to capitalism.

Journal of Development StudiesAmong the best known international journals in the area of development studies. ​

The Journal of Economic InequalityProvides a forum for economic investigations and analyses of questions regarding economic and social inequalities.

World DevelopmentMulti-disciplinary monthly journal of development studies that seeks to explore ways of improving standards of living, and the human condition generally.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.