Skip to main content

Political Economy 150: Women and Development in Transitional China: News & Media

Chines and English Language News Sources

Access World News.  Full-text information and perspectives from U.S. and international news sources.

Apabi Newspapers Database.  Covers 26 key Chinese newspapers including Guangming Daily, People's Liberation Army Daily and Southern Weekend.

Chinese Language News and Newspapers. A list of freely available Chinese-language newspapers and news magazines. Compiled by the MIT Libraries.

Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) Country Reports and Profiles. In-depth analysis of current economic and political events in more than 200 countries.

Financial Times.  Access to the Financial Times from January 1998 to present. For historical access see the Financial Times Historical Archive which has the complete run of the daily Financial Times from 1888 through 2006.

New York Times.  Full-text coverage of the New York Times. For Historical issues see Historical Newspapers (ProQuest).

Project Syndicate. Excellent collection of op-ed commentaries from some of the world's leading economists and opinions makers.

LexisNexis Academic. Full-text access to international, national and local newspapers and wire services, as well as radio and television transcripts.

People's Daily. With publication started in June 1946 and a current circulation of 3 million, People's Daily is the most influential and authoritative newspaper in China. It is the official voice of the central government of the People's Republic of China.

Wall Street Journal.  Via Proquest, also available via Factiva. For historical issues (from 1889) see Historical Newspapers (ProQuest).

WiseNewsThis newspaper database covers the key newspapers and publications from mainland China, Hong Kong, Taiwan and other Asian countries. In Chinese and English.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.