Skip to main content

Political Economy 150: Women and Development in Transitional China: Statistics & Data

Statistics and Data about China and Chinese Regions

China Data OnlineEconomic statistics of China, arranged by regions and categories. Includes monthly and yearly reports on China's macroeconomic development, statistical databases about China's population and economy at the county and city level, and financial indicators of industrial branches.​

China Geo-Explorer IIDemographic and economic data, maps and reports for China at various administrative levels, and access to efficient data integration for spatial and non-spatial data.

China Statistical Yearbooks Database (CSYD)Statistical yearbooks database that provides comprehensive and continuous official statistics in both Chinese and English language.

China Survey Data Network (CSDN)CSDN collects survey data and provides free access to the data sets. It also provides service on storing data from researchers. Registration required.​

National Bureau of Statistics of China - Statistical DataOfficial government website for statistical data in China.

National Population Census of China 2010This database contains the data of the Sixth National Population Census conducted in 2010 in China.

Asian Development Bank Statistical Database System. Statistical Data from the Asian Development Bank.

CEICMacroeconomic data  for 121 countries, including Demographics and Labor Markets, Economic & Household Surveys, Tourism, Trade and more.

Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) Country Reports and Profiles.  Annual and quarterly analysis of the political and economic situation for more than 180 countries, from 1996 to present.

Gender Statistics from the United Nations.  Excellent portal of data from multiple International Organizations put together by the UN Department of Economic and Social Affairs.  Data from multiple international organizations on a variety of topics.

Statistics and Indicators on Women and Men.  From the United Nations Statistics Division: Basic Gender indicators for a large range of countries over time,

UNICEF Data. Statistics and data on a host of topics affecting women and children across countries.  Includes access to data from Multiple Indicator Cluster Surveys, the largest source of internationally comparable data on women and children worldwide.

Women & Men in Decision Making. Monitors the numbers of men and women in key decision-making positions at the national and regional levels across Europe.

Women in National Parliaments. World and regional averages of the percentage of women in national parliaments.

Women in Parliament, 1945-2003: Cross-National Dataset. Information on women's inclusion in parliamentary bodies in over 150 countries from 1945 to 2003. 

World's Women: Trends and Statistics.  Series of reports at five-year intervals, starting in 1990 that analyze women's situation compared to men's worldwide on a range of fields.

World Bank Data Catalog. Comprehensive catalog of  international economic, financial, and socio-economic data from the World Bank. Among the many datasets offered is World Development Indicators with time series data from 1960 for 207 countries with hundreds of variables.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.