Skip to main content

Political Economy 150: Women and Development in Transitional China: Government Info

Chinese Government Information

Archives of the Communist Party of China (CPC). Contains archives and publications of the Communist Party since its establishment in 1921. Content includes archives of historical documents, documents from the Communist Party's National Congress since 1921, publications of legendary leaders, daily activities of current party elites since 1989, and historical events in the Party history since 1921.

China Economy, Public Policy, and Security Database. Contains high-value analytical reports intended to guide policymaking in the People’s Republic of China. These reports feature exclusive research and analysis by the Chinese Academy of Social Sciences and authors from similar institutions, and present objective analysis versus official government messaging on strategic issues.

Database of Laws and Regulations. On-line database is the collection of the laws enacted by the National People’s Congress and its Standing Committee and administrative regulations by the State Council. It is in English.

National Bureau of Statistics of China - Statistical Data. An official government website to release statistical data in China.

National Population Census of China 2010This database contains the data of the Sixth National Population Census conducted in 2010 in China.

Nongovernmental Organizations (NGOs)

Non-Governmental Organization (NGO) information on the Internet can be located using the following directories  and the NGO search engine below. Please also see the UCB Library Research Guide on this topic.

NGO Custom Search Engine

 


Think Tank Search Engine. From Harvard Kennedy School Library.

Idealist.Org. Includes a directory organizations by name, mission, focus country and more.

TakingITGlobal. International non-profit centered on young people. Good source of NGO information by country and area of focus. 

CGS PolicyArchive. Good resource for a range of full-text documents produced by think tanks (non-profit research organizations) in the United States.

Eldis. Information service providing free access to research on international development issues. Includes  summaries and links to research and policy documents.

PAIS International. Books, journals, government documents, research and conference reports, and web sources related to public policy, politics, economics, and social issues. 

Project Muse. Scholarly content in the humanities and social sciences, includes many publications from overseas institutes and think tanks.

International Government Organizations

Information from International Government Organizations (IGO) on the Internet can be located using this IGO custom search engine as well as some of the following sources listed below. 
 

IGO Custom Search Engine

   


International Organization for MigrationInternational Organization dedicated exclusively to migration issues.

UN Women.  United Nations Entity for Gender Equality and the Empowerment of Women, the UN agency bringing together resources and mandates for greater impact on Women's Issues. 

UNiTE Campaign.  United Nations Secretary-General’s campaign to raise public awareness and increase political will and resources for preventing and ending all forms of violence against women and girls in all parts of the world.

International Labour Organization (ILO) Bureau for Gender Equality. ILO unit to promote equality between women and men throughout the organization

United Nations Commission on the Status of Women. Commission of the UN Economic and Social Council dedicated to gender equality and the advancement of women.

United Nations Committee on the Elimination of Discrimination Against Women (CEDAW). UN Committee established under Article 17 of the Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women.

United Nations Population Fund: Gender Equality and Women's EmpowermentUNFPA section on Gender equality.

United Nations Millennium Development Goals: Gender Equality. Target 4 of the MDGs -- "Eliminate gender disparity in primary and secondary education, preferably by 2005, and to all levels of education no later than 2015."

World Health Organization (WHO) Gender Mainstreaming. WHO office responsible for creating knowledge, awareness, and responsibility for gender mainstreaming among health professionals.

United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the PacificGood content but no search.

United Nations Human Development Report Library. Searchable and browse-able library of national development reports from the UNDP.  Substantive country reports are released on a regular basis and are theme-based.  

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.