Skip to main content

Data and Digital Scholarship: Labs & Service Centers

Introduction

The following is a selection of campus labs and services centers that either provide data and digital scholarship software and hardware facilities to campus users, or assist users in finding and accessing data and other digital information. Some of these facilities are open to all users, others are created to serve specific departments or clientele.  

Berkeley Center for New Media

The Berkeley Center for New Media  (BCNM) is a focal point for research and teaching about new media, led by a highly trans-disciplinary community of 120 affiliated faculty, advisors, and scholars, from 35 UC Berkeley departments. BCNM is located at a global center for design and information technology and based in a public research university known for alternative thinking.

California Research Data Center (CCRC)

The California Census Research Data Center is a partnership between the University of California at Berkeley and the Census Bureau. It is a secure facility where approved researchers can access and analyze otherwise unavailable microdata collected or held by the Census Bureau and other federal agencies. A fuller description of the resources in the RDC can be found at http://www.ces.census.gov

D-Lab

D-Lab provides cross-disciplinary resources for in-depth consulting and advising, access to staff support, and training and provisioning for software and other infrastructure needs. Networking with other Berkeley centers and facilities and with departments and schools, they offer services to researchers across the disciplines and underwrite the breadth of excellence of Berkeley’s graduate programs and faculty research.

Econometrics Laboratory

The Econometrics Laboratory (EML) is a computing facility dedicated to instruction at the graduate level and research by graduate students and faculty in the Department of Economics. This work concentrates on new developments in computationally intensive econometrics.

Haas School of Business Library

The Thomas J. Long Business Library houses the major collection of business administration materials on the University of California Berkeley campus" and provides access to a extensive set of electronic resources and data in business and economics.

Kelley Research & Outreach Lab

The Kelley Lab uses a range of mapping techniques geospatial techniques to answer applied questions about how and why California landscapes are changing, and what that means for the people who live on, derive sustenance from, and manage them.

Research IT @ UC Berkeley

Research IT (RIT) provides research information technologies such as high performance computing (HPC), research data management, research application development, and data analysis tools. They also offer consulting that ranges from grant proposal development, to data management plans and work with campus centers, colleges, and other units to build communities of researchers and IT professionals. 

SIEPR-Giannini Data Center

The SIEPR-Giannini Data Center is a joint project between Stanford University and University of California, Berkeley archiving and documenting existing data sets. It aims at connecting existing projects, providing commonly used resources, and making data more easily accessible for future projects. Funding for this project is provided by the Stanford Institute for Economic Policy Research (SIEPR) and the Giannini Foundation.

University of California Curation Center (UC3)

UC3 helps researchers and the UC libraries manage, preserve, and provide access to their important digital assets. It offers the folliwng data management tools to researchers:

  • DataUp - An open source tool helping researchers document, manage, and archive their tabular data, DataUp operates within the scientist's workflow and integrates with Microsoft® Excel

  • Dash - An easy, self service tool for researchers to publish their datasets..

  • DMPTool - An online tool for building data management plans with step-by-step instructions and guidance for meeting specific funding agency requirements.

  • EZID - A service that makes it simple to obtain and manage long-term identifiers (i.e., DOIs and ARKs) for digital content. Berkeley researchers can request a free account by contacting data-consult@lists.berkeley.edu.

AMPLab

The AMPLab is a five-year collaborative effort at UC Berkeley, involving students, researchers and faculty from a wide swath of computer science and data-intensive application domains to address the Big Data analytics problem.  AMP stands for “Algorithms, Machines, and People”.  AMPLab envisions a world where massive data, cloud computing, communication and people resources can be continually, flexibly and dynamically be brought to bear on a range of hard problems by people connected to the cloud via devices of increasing power and sophistication.

Berkeley Institute for Data Sciences (BIDS)

The Berkeley Institute for Data Science (BIDS) is a central hub of research and education at UC Berkeley designed to facilitate and nurture data-intensive science.  Features a "cohort of talented data science fellows and senior fellows who are representative of the world-class researchers from across campus and are leading the data science revolution within their disciplines." See especially their research page.

Demography Lab

The CEDA/Demography Lab is the computing facility for the UC Berkeley Department of Demography, the Center for the Economics and Demography of Aging and The Berkeley Population Center. The Lab consists of a small core of powerful Unix servers and 40 workstations running a recent version of Fedora Linux. The lab is designed to provide a computing environment that is optimized for research and teaching in Demography.

Earth Sciences Library

The Earth Sciences and Maps Library supports geographic information system (GIS) software and data services across all disciplines for the UC Berkeley campus. The library has two GIS workstations available for UC Berkeley student, staff, and faculty use. These workstations have fully licensed versions of ArcGIS 10 for Desktop installed. Library users can use these machines for GIS work whenever the library is open

Experimental Social Science Laboratory (XLab)

The Experimental Social Science Laboratory (Xlab) is an interdisciplinary facility for conducting experiment-based investigations of issues of interest to social scientists. The Xlab is conveniently located in the Haas School of Business.

Geospatial Innovation Facility

The Geospatial Innovation Facility provides leadership and training across a broad array of integrated mapping technologies. These technologies include Remote Sensing, Geographic Information Systems (GIS), Global Positioning Systems (GPS), and modeling. GIF provides workshops, consulting, computer labs with GIS software, equipment rentals, and guides to resources.

Library Data Lab

The Library Data Lab offers consultations on research involving numeric data, including finding and recommending data sources and advising on technical data issues such as file format conversion, text processing, and web scraping. The Lab also provides workstations with analytical software including ArcGIS, Python, R, SAS, SPSS, and Stata.

Social Sciences Matrix

The Social Science Matrix is UC Berkeley’s flagship institute for social science research. Its purpose is to provide an organizational framework that supports cross-disciplinary projects pursued by more than 500 social scientists across the Berkeley campus research landscape and beyond.  Social Science Matrix also partners with a range of interdisciplinary research centers operating across the UC Berkeley campus.

UC Data

UCDATA is UC Berkeley's principal archive of digitized social science data and statistics. Its goal is to support the social science data needs of UC Berkeley researchers. Its mission includes providing access to a broad range of computerized social science data to faculty, staff, and students at UC Berkeley, and helping researchers understand the content and context of social science data, including geography, weighting, complex designs, and missing data.  

UC Data is the official representatives for ICPSR and the Roper Center and distributor for the California/Field Poll and provide access to these data to the entire UC Berkeley Campus

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.