Skip to main content

Data and Digital Scholarship: Discovery & Access

Introduction

Numerous campus services assist users in finding and working with data and digital scholarship; other databases and data sets are purchased for general campus use, in particular by the University Libraries and the Campus D-Lab. The following are some examples for some of the more commonly used resources for discovery and access. 

Online Data Sources

Association of Religion Data Archives.  American and international surveys and data on religion.

CEIC Global Database. Macroeconomic, industrial, and financial time series for more than one hundred countries.

Council of European Social Science Data Archives (CESSDA). Datasets from 12 social science data archives across Europe.

CQ State Stats.  A collection of current and historical data series from government and non-government sources, allowing comparison and ranking of U.S. states.

Data Planet.  Offers easy access to over 5,550 data sets from over 65 source providers and 16 subject categories. 

Dataverse Project.  Open source web application to share, preserve, cite, explore & analyze research data. It facilitates making data available to others, and allows you to replicate others work.

GeoData@UC Berkeley. Geospatial data in both vector and raster formats including scanned maps.

Global Financial Data. Very long runs of economic and financial data from countries worldwide, some series going back hundreds of years. 

Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR).  Consortium of 325 institutions working together to acquire and preserve social science data. Maintained at University of Michigan.

IMF eLibrary. Open access to IMF data and statistical publications.

Integrated Public Use Microdata Series (IPUMS). From the Minnesota Population Center. Micro-data for censuses from the United States back to 1850 as well as other nations. 

Odum Archive DataverseA repository for all Louis Harris public opinion data and Roper Center nonproprietary poll data. 

OECD iLibrary. Publications and statistical data from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD).

ProQuest Statistical Insight. Search statistics produced by the U.S. government, major international and intergovernmental organizations, professional and research organizations, state governments, and universities.

RAND State Statistics. Social science data for the US at the national, state, and local levels.

Roper Center for Public Opinion Research. Contains domestic and international survey data. The Center's Public Opinion Location Library (iPOLL) gives online access to a database including poll questions asked in US from 1936 to present.

Social Explorer. Data and interactive thematic maps from the U.S. Census from 1790-present

Social Science ElectronicData Library (SSEDL). Social science and health data archives plus an online data analysis system

Statista. A statistics portal that integrates data from reliable sources on thousands of topics.

Statistical Abstract of the United States. A comprehensive collection of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.

TheDataWeb. Provides access to demographic, economic, environmental and health datasets across different government agencies and organizations.

World Development Indicators (WDI). An extensive collection of data about global development from the World Bank.

United States Census Bureau.  Principal source of periodic U.S demographic data. Major programs include the Census of Population and Housing available via American Factfinder and the American Communiyt Survey.

UNdata. The United Nations's statistical database that includes data published by the UN and its affiliates

Data Discovery on Campus

The Library Data Lab offers consultations on research involving numeric data, including finding and recommending data sources and advising on technical data issues such as file format conversion, text processing, and web scraping. The Lab also provides workstations with analytical software including ArcGIS, Python, R, SAS, SPSS, and Stata.

D-Lab provides cross-disciplinary resources for in-depth consulting and advising, access to staff support, and training and provisioning for software and other infrastructure needs. They offer services to researchers across the disciplines and underwrite the breadth of excellence of Berkeley’s graduate programs and faculty research.

The Earth Sciences and Maps Library  supports geographic information system (GIS) software and data services across all disciplines for the UC Berkeley campus. The library has two GIS workstations available for UC Berkeley student, staff, and faculty use. These workstations have fully licensed versions of ArcGIS 10 for Desktop installed. Library users can use these machines for GIS work whenever the library is open.

The Thomas J. Long Business Library houses the major collection of business administration materials on the University of California Berkeley campus" and provides access to a extensive set of electronic resources and data in business and economics.

The Sheldon Margen Public Health Library collects and helps users access to public health data at the local, national and global levels.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.