Skip to main content

Data and Digital Scholarship: Computing & Software

Introduction

The UC Berkeley campus has site licenses for a variety of statistical and geospatial software packages for students, faculty and departmental purchase.  In addition there are a number of computing facilities on campus that provide software to departments or walk-in users.   

Computing Facilities and Public Spaces

The Library Data Lab provides access to electronic data files and analytical software such as MS Excel, SAS, SPSS, Stata, MatLab, R, and python. The Library Data Lab staff can help you locate, retrieve, and use numeric data.  Please schedule an appointment to discuss data needs or visit during regularly scheduled times when staff are present in the lab.  Data Lab computers are intended for retrieving, downloading, and manipulating datasets.

D-Lab provides cross-disciplinary resources for in-depth consulting and advising, access to staff support, and training and provisioning for software and other infrastructure needs.  D-Lab provides multiple spaces for researchers to learn, work, and consult in several locations in Barrows and Evans Halls.

The Earth Sciences and Maps Library supports geographic information system (GIS) software and data services across all disciplines for the UC Berkeley campus. The library has two GIS workstations available for UC Berkeley student, staff, and faculty use. These workstations have fully licensed versions of ArcGIS 10 for Desktop installed. Library users can use these machines for GIS work whenever the library is open

Data Management Tools

Dash - An easy, self service tool for researchers to publish their datasets.

DataUp - An open source tool helping researchers document, manage, and archive their tabular data, DataUp operates within the scientist's workflow and integrates with Microsoft® Excel.

DMPTool - An online tool for building data management plans with step-by-step instructions and guidance for meeting specific funding agency requirements.

EZID - A service that makes it simple to obtain and manage long-term identifiers (i.e., DOIs and ARKs) for digital content. Berkeley researchers can request a free account by contacting data-consult@lists.berkeley.edu.

Big Data Software

BDAS, the Berkeley Data Analytics Stack. Open source software stack that integrates software components being built by the AMPLab to make sense of Big Data. Includes software for access and interfaces, processing, storage and resource virtualization.

BlinkDB GraphX
MLlib MLBase
Spark Core SparkR
Spark Streaming Sample Clean     
Succint Velox

 

Numeric Data Software

MATLAB is a numerical computing environment and fourth-generation programming language. Allows matrix manipulations, plotting of functions and data, implementation of algorithms, creation of user interfaces, and interfacing with programs written in other languages, including C, C++, Java, and Fortran. The campus has a site license.

R is an open-source statistical analysis tool that is both a programming language and a command-based application. It is a free and powerful tool for analyzing and visuallizing data. R-Studio offers a graphical user interface which includes a console, syntax-highlighting editor as well as tools for plotting, history, debugging and workspace management

SAS. From traditional analysis of variance and linear regression to exact methods and statistical visualization techniques, SAS/STAT software provides tools for both specialized and enterprise-wide analytical needs.  The campus has a site license with different purchasing options available.

SDA.  Easy to use web based program for the documentation and analysis of survey data. Developed and maintained by the Computer-assisted Survey Methods Program at the University of California, Berkeley.

SPSS. IBM SPSS Statistics is an integrated family of products that addresses the entire analytical process, from planning to data collection to analysis, reporting and deployment. The campus has a site license with diferrering purchasing and access options for individuals and selected campus funding partners.

Stata is a general-purpose statistical software package used by many academic institutions. Most of its users work in research, especially in the fields of economics, sociology, political science, and epidemiology. It's full range of capabilities includes data management, statistical analysis, graphics, simulations and programming. There are several different purchasing options for students and faculty.

Geospatual Software

ArcGIS (ESRI, Inc.)  UC Berkeley students, faculty, and staff may obtain a one-year education edition of ArcGIS software free of charge. Click here to find out how.

Geographic Resources Analysis Support System (GRASS).  Open-source GIS used for data management, image processing, graphics production, spatial modeling, and visualization of many types of data. There are Linux and Windows versions of GRASS available for download.

Quantum GIS (QGIS). Open source GIS program, available free for download, that runs on Linux, Unix, Mac OSX and Windows. This user friendly software is a great option for performing many geospatial tasks, and is supported by an active developer and user community.

Collaborative Computing

BCE stands for the Berkeley Common (or Compute, or Collaborative…) Environment. It is designed to provide a common Linux computational environment for classwork and research. The goal for the BCE is to provide both the ready-made environments and also the “recipes” or scripts setting up these environments.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.