Skip to main content

Data and Digital Scholarship: Campus Projects

Introduction

This is a selection of some of the many digital humanities, and numeric and geospatial projects underway or completed at UC Berkeley. Please send suggestions our way.

Digital Humanities Projects

Bancroft Library Digital Collections. Large assortment of themed digital collections, from California Cultures and the Free Speech Movement to City Arts and Lectures and Japanese Relocation sources and Hack FSM.  Over 25 collections, and growing. 

Brueghel Wiki. Place where information about the painter Jan Brueghel can be gathered, shared, and debated among scholars, furthering our understanding of how Brueghel produced his body of work.

Bulgarian Dialectology as Living Tradition. Database of oral speech representing a range of Bulgarian dialects. It comprises 177 excerpts from material recorded in 68 different Bulgarian villages over the period 1986-2013. Currently under development.

California Language Archive. A catalog and online archive of the indigenous languages of California, western North America, and the Americas.

CollectionSpace. Open source collections management application that meets the needs of museums, historical societies, and other collection-holding organizations. CollectionSpace began as a collaborative project supported by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation. 

Digital Humanities Projects at Berkeley. Subset of digital humanities work currently taking place at UC Berkeley.

Digital Scriptorium. Image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts that unites scattered resources from many institutions into an international tool for teaching and scholarly research.

Living New Deal. Research project and archive documenting the scope and impact of the New Deal in America.  Goal is to uncover every New Deal public works site in all fifty states and build an archive of photographs, documents, films, and stories from the period.

Mark Twain Project Online. MTPO's purpose is to produce a digital critical edition, fully annotated, of everything Mark Twain wrote. It is produced by the Mark Twain Papers and Project of The Bancroft Library, and hosted by UC Berkeley's Library Systems Office. During 2005 the California Digital Library collaborated in MTPO's creation and initial development.

Milton Revealed. Collaborative project to collect audio-visual materials related to John Milton and his work, to re-examine his relation to theatricality, and to develop teaching approaches to Milton that use performance across a variety of media.

Shakespeare's Staging. Explores the history of Shakespeare performance through images, videos, essays and bibliographies. The site is designed to be a resource for teachers and students of Shakespeare as well as for performers and directors of the plays. 

Social Science Matrix Research ProjectsResearch initiatives to better understand the rapidly evolving social science landscape.

Yurok Language Project.  Provides information about the Yurok language, its structure and usage, and its relations to cultural and geographical setting.

Geospatial Projects

Cal-Adapt. Developed to showcase the wealth of innovative climate change research being produced by the scientific community in California, as documented in the 2009 California Climate Adaptation Strategy.

GeoData@UC BerkeleyUC Berkeley Libraries' geoportal where users can search, preview, display, map, and download geospatial data in a variety of formats.

Historical GIS Project. Tool under development - long-term objective is to enable researchers to reframe historical narratives by taking into account and understanding the spatial choices of historical actors. 

Indigenous Mexicans in California AgricultureWeb map application for the Indigenous Farmworker Study, a partnership between farm labor researchers and the Indigenous Program of California Rural Legal Assistance. 

OakMapper.  Sudden Oak Death (SOD) is a forest disease resulting in widespread dieback of several tree species in California and Oregon forests. This interactive webGIS site is a tool where SOD sightings can be viewed and submitted by research scientists and community members.

WESTCARB Carbon Atlas. Interactive geographical information system showing the locations of major industrial CO2 emissions sources in the WESTCARB region, as well as areas with geologic formations suitable for storing CO2 and boundaries of publicly owned lands 

Wieslander Vegetation Type MappingIn the 1920s and 1930s Albert Wieslander and others explored much of California's wilderness sampling vegetation, taking photographs, collecting plant specimens, and drawing maps. These data represent a snapshot of California's vegetation in the early 20th century, and are a valuable resource for comparative and conservation ecology.

Numeric Data Projects

California Child Welfare Indicators Project (CCWIP). Collaborative venture between the University of California at Berkeley (UCB) and the California Department of Social Services (CDSS) housed in the School of Social Welfare. Provides users with access to information on California’s child welfare system.

Equal Opportunity Project. Collection of data sets, papers, rankings, and news chronicling income mobility trends in the United States. Joint project with faculty from UC Berkeley and Harvard University.

Human Mortality Database. Created to provide detailed mortality and population data to researchers, students, journalists, policy analysts, and others interested in the history of human longevity. 

Statewide Database. Offers voting, registration and geographic data sets for the State of California for statewide elections beginning in 1992. Also provides redistricting court cases and redistricting news for all states, and other redistricting resources such as research on redistricting criteria, initiative language and maps.

World's Top Incomes Database. Joint project from the Paris School of Economics, the Institute for New Economic Thinking, the Economic and Social Research Council, and the Center for Equitable Growth (UCB). Provides distribution of top incomes over time for more than twenty countries to date.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.