Skip to main content

Keeping Current: Journal Alerts

Keeping current

There are many different services and technologies that can help you keep up-do-date with the scientific literature. 

Alerts by Topic

Article databases will often let you set up email alerts when articles matching your search criteria are published. Below are a few databases specializing in science and engineering that cover a broad range of publications.

Web of Knowledge: includes Web of Science, BIOSIS Previews, CAB, INSPEC, and Zoological Record.
» Guide to setup/edit alerts

Scopus: alerts require free registration.

PubMed: requires free registration through My NCBI.
» Guide to setup/edit alerts

CSA Auto Alerts: includes Agricola, Aquatic Science and Fisheries Abstracts, BioOne, Earthquake Engineering Abstracts, Engineering Materials Abstracts, Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management, GeoRef, and other interdisciplinary databases.
» Guide to setup/edit alerts

Compendex: alerts require free registration. Covers all engineering topics.

Google Scholar: alerts require a Google account.
 

Alerts by Journal

Having tables of contents e-mailed directly to you as new issues are published can be a good way to keep up with a particular journal. Many journals also broadcast new content on Twitter or via RSS feeds.

Consolidated Journal Alerts

JournalTOCs is a free service that provides access in one place to the most recent tables of contents for over 12,000 scholarly journals. Alerts can be emailed or sent to an RSS feed

Individual Journal Alerts

Popular journals in science and engineering:

Tip: Use our Electronic Journal Titles A-Z database to locate the journal's home page.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.