Skip to main content
Social & Cultural Factors in Environmental Design is a strategic bibliographic guide for UC Berkeley students (in particular, students in Architecture 110/210 and Landscape Architecture 140) researching social, cultural, and psychological factors in environmental design. The guide emphasizes resources pertaining to the San Francisco Bay Area and California. For a broader view of the U.S., see American Cultural Landscapes. For additional assistance please consult the Environmental Design Library reference staff, 210 Wurster Hall.
Here is a selection of specialized dictionaries and encyclopedias for factual background information on your topic.
- Atlas of vernacular architecture of the world / Marcel Vellinga, Paul Oliver and Alexander Bridge. Abingdon, Oxon ; New York : Routledge, 2007.
- Encyclopedia of community: from the village to the virtual world / Karen Christensen & David Levinson, general eds. 4 vols. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications, 2003. Comprised of well-written signed articles on diverse topics, including community gardening, housing, immigrant communities, and recreation.
- Encyclopedia of cultural anthropology, David Levinson, Melvyn Ember, eds. NY: Henry and Holt, 1996.
- Encyclopedia of gardens: history and design, Chicago Botanic Garden. Candice A. Shoemaker, ed. 3 vols. Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn, 2001. Excellent source for landscape design history. Substantive signed articles are illustrated; each includes a brief bibliography.
- Encyclopedia of multiculturalism, Susan Auerbach, ed. NY: Marshall Cavendish, 1994.
- Encyclopedia of vernacular architecture of the world, Paul Oliver, ed. NY: Cambridge Univ. Pr., 1997. 3 vol. Excellent bibliographies.
- International encyclopedia of the social & behavioral sciences (IESBS) via ScienceDirect - UCB Only Updated 2004. Contains more than 3,800 articles spread over 99 subject areas. Links from references to full-text articles and browsable indexes makes this work a key research tool.
- Oxford art online - UCB Only Includes the online version of the Grove Dictionary of Art (Grove Art Online), as well as other art reference sources. Contains articles on every aspect of the visual arts including architecture and landscape architecture. Features a search for images only.
- The Oxford companion to the garden / edited by Patrick Taylor. Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2006.
Oxford reference online - Art and architecture - UCB Only Access to more than 10 architecture, art, and landscape architecture dictionaries and encyclopedias published by Oxford University Press, for example, A Dictionary of Architecture and Landscape Architecture and The Oxford Companion to the Garden. Search sources collectively or search within an individual title.
- Oxford reference online - Politics and social sciences - UCB Only Access to more than 20 Oxford University encyclopedias and dictionaries in the social sciences, for example, A Dictionary of Psychology, Dictionary of the Social Sciences, and The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States. Search sources collectively or search within an individual title.
Specialized bibliographies can help you find publications on your topic. Also look for bibliographies in books as well as in journal and encyclopedia articles.
- Architecture, environmental design, and the human psyche: recent journal articles. Dale E. Casper. Monticello, IL: Vance Bibliographies, 
- Architectural design, human behavior, special topics / edited by Georgia Bizios. Durham, N.C. : Eno River Press, c1991.
- Environmental sociology: a bibliography of conceptual, methodological, and theoretical readings, by Riley E. Dunlap. Monticello, IL: Vance Bibliographies, .
- Gender, environment, and development : a guide to the literature / Heleen van den Hombergh. Utrecht, The Netherlands : Published for the Institute for Development Research Amsterdam by International Books, 1993.
- Psychological aspects of housing and the built-environment: a bibliography, by Marjorie Inman. Monticello, IL: Vance Bibliographies, 
- Psychological aspects of architecture: a bibliography, by Mary Vance. Monticello, IL: Vance Bibliographies, 1983.
- Resources in environment-behavior studies, Gary T. Moore and the faculty and students of the Ph. D. Program, comps. Milwaukee: Dept. of Architecture, School of Architecture and Urban Planning, Univ. of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, 1991.
- Social factors and environmental design: reciprocal relations of society and man-made environment, by Thomas H. Jenkins. Monticello, IL: Council of Planning Librarians, 1978
Here is a brief selection of books and articles that talk about application of social science research methodologies to design.
- Behavioral scientists enter design, by William Reese. IN: Creating breakthrough ideas: the collaboration of anthropologists and designers in the product development industry, Susan Squires and Bryan Byrne, eds. Westport, CT: Bergin & Garvey, 2002. Online table of contents.
- Ethnographic field methods and their relation to design, by Jeanette Blomberg, et. al. IN: Participatory design: principles and practices, Douglas Schuler, Aki Namioka, eds. Hillsdale, NJ: L. Erlbaum Associates, 1993, pp. 123-55.
- People and buildings/ Robert Gutman, editor ; with a new introduction by Nathan Glazer. New Brunswick, N.J. : Transaction Publishers, 2009.
- Public places and private spaces: the psychology of work, play, and living environments, by Albert Mehrabian. NY: Basic Books, 1976.
- The Social life of small urban spaces, by William H. Whyte. NY: Project for Public Spaces, 2001, c1980.
- Sociology of architecture: constructing identities / Paul Jones. Liverpool : Liverpool University Press, 2011.
- Some place like home: using design psychology to create ideal places, by Toby Israel. Hoboken, NJ: Wiley, 2003.
Here is a selected list of environmental design research guides to UC Berkeley library and web resources. See also Environmental Design Library Research Guides for a complete list of subject guides and other useful research tools.