Skip to main content

Zoology & Natural History: Articles & Protocols

Find Articles:

Start with the databases for articles, technical reports, conference papers, government documents and more. Zootaxa

Selected Article Databases

Zoological Record
Animal biology, biodiversity, zoology including taxonomy, systematics, ecology, behavior, evolution and conservation. [1864 - present].

ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts
Marine, freshwater, and brackishwater environments, aquaculture, conservation, meteorology, oceanography, wildlife. [1971 - present]

BIOSIS Previews
Articles, conference papers, and books on biological and biomedical topics. Includes literature reviews.[1926 - present]

CAB Abstracts & Global Health
Environmental / occupational health, medical microbiology, nutrition, public health, toxicology, and zoonoses, biodiversity, biotechnology, pest control, pollution, animal science, nutrition and food technology, crop production, natural resources, forestry, environmental policy, and rural development. [1912 - present].

Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management
Agricultural, biotechnology, air quality, pollution, bacteriology, ecology, energy, engineering, environmental impact statements, waste, industrial hygiene, microbiology, risk assessment, safety, toxicology, water resource issues. [1967 - present]

GeoRef
Articles, books, maps, dissertations, conference proceedings, reports, and government documents worldwide on geology.

Oceanic Abstracts
Marine and brackish-water environment, oceans, marine biology, fisheries, aquaculture, non-living resources, meteorology and geology, environmental and legislative topics. [1981 - present].

PubMed
Use UCB access for UC eLinks to full text articles and citations in medicine and life sciences. [1950 - present] dates vary.

Scopus
Indexes journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences and more.

Web of Science*
Covers science, arts, humanities, social sciences, search footnotes and citations. [1900 - present]

Selected Journals

Physiological and Biochemical Zoology: PBZ
Ethology: International Journal of Behavioural Biology

Zootaxa 11451 12.60%
Journal of Natural History 1456 1.60%
Acta Zootaxonomica Sinica 1202 1.32%
Journal of Paleontology 1197 1.32%
Linzer Biologische Beitraege 1190 1.31%
Annales Zoologici (Warsaw) 922 1.01%
Revue Suisse de Zoologie 867 0.95%
Paleontologicheskii Zhurnal 757 0.83%
Entomologica Basiliensia 717 0.79%
Zoological Journal of the Linnean Society 714 0.79%

Zootaxa
Bulletin of the American Museum of Natural History
Zoological Journal of the Linnean Society
Journal of Natural History
Linzer Biologische Beitraege
Annales Zoologici (Warsaw)
Journal of Paleontology
Memoirs of the American Entomological Institute (Gainesville) 
Proceedings of the Entomological Society of Washington
Munis Entomology & Zoology

Statistics and Unique Data

Statista
A statistics portal that integrates data from reliable sources on thousands of topics
Categorized into market sectors, Statista provides access to quantitative facts on media, business, politics, and other areas. Sources of information include market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government sources. Data may be downloaded into spreadsheets and presentations. includes industry reports.

     UCB access only

Protocols

PubMed
excellent resource for finding recent protocols.

Cold Spring Harbor Protocols:
collection of full-text scholarly monographs published by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory Press

Current Protocols [Wiley]
Access Current Protocols in Bioinformatics, Control Protocols in Field Analytical Chemistry, and others in the Current Protocols series

Nature Protocols:
use browse by subject, right menu bar

Springer Protocols:
Includes Methods in Molecular Biology and Methods in Molecular Medicine. Content covers biochemistry, biotechnology, genetics, microbiology, molecular and cell biology, neuroscience, oncology, and proteomics.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.