Skip to main content

Natural History & Zoology: Animal+

Biodiversity Resources

Animal Diversity Web:
species accounts and taxonomic data for animal species. Higher taxa have overview entries. Maintained by University of Michigan’s Museum of Zoology

Consortium of California Herbaria:
Locate specimens housed in herbaria throughout the state. Specimen records are linked, where applicable, to species accounts, California range maps, and other resources.

eLS: Encyclopedia of Life:
Reference database for 1.8 million species named and known on this planet. Species accounts include images, taxonomic data, life history, distribution, ecology, and references.

ePIC, Electronic Plant Information Centre (Kew):
Kew Royal Botanical Gardens’ checklists, databases, bibliographies, and publications. Particularly useful for taxonomic queries: search the International Plant Names Index and checklists.

Global Biodiversity Information Facility:
portal to biodiversity datasets. Data accessed by species, country, or dataset. 

Hawaii Biological Survey: produced by the Hawaii Biological Survey, includes checklists of fauna and flora, catalogs of museum specimens, and technical reports of the Bishop Museum.

Index to Organism Names.
OIN contains the organism names gathered from the scientific literature for Thomson Reuters' Zoological Record® database. Viruses, bacteria and plant names will be added from other Thomson Reuters databases such as BIOSIS Previews®.

Integrated Taxonomic Information System:
“authoritative taxonomic information on plants, animals, fungi, and microbes of North America and the world” 

Mammal Species of the World:
mammalian taxonomy based on Wilson & Reeder's Mammal Species of the World. A Taxonomic and Geographic Reference. 3rd ed. Baltimore: Johns Hopkins University Press, 2005.

NatureServe Explorer:
information on 65,000+ plants, animals, and ecosystems of the United States and Canada. 

Nomenclator Zoologicus:
names and bibliographic origins of the genera and subgenera in zoology from the tenth edition of Linnaeus 1758 to the end of 2004.

People, Biodiversity and Ecology:
access to publications from UNESCO programs on international biodiversity issues. 

Regional Species Lists, Molluscs:
Conchological Society of America, directory of regional checklists and species accounts of mollusks around the world.

Species 2000:
annual checklist compiling taxonomic information contained in 52 taxonomic databases. Records contain taxonomic data and links to original database records.

UC Museum of Paleontology- History of Life Through Time:
tree of life by clicking on taxa of interest for evolutionary history. Articles have references and links for further information.

Virus Taxonomy Online:
taxonomic information and genus/species accounts of viruses; maintained by the International Committee on Taxonomy of Viruses. 

World List of Marine, Freshwater & Terrestrial Crustacea Isopoda:
Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History maintains site, features a taxonomic database of isopod species and a bibliography of species descriptions.

Zoonomen: Zoological Nomenclature Resource:
continually updated nomenclature and species descriptions for birds.

Conservation and Endangered Species

AmphibiaWeb:
clearinghouse about amphibian conservation and biology. Part of the Digital Library Project at UC Berkeley. 

Animal Info:
accounts of present and historical conservation status of rare and endangered mammal species. 

CITES:
Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora, contains Convention text, official documents, species lists and member countries.

Conservation Commons:
websites of Conservation Common’s partner organizations; good way to locate and access conservation-related publications from a wide range of organizations.

Conservation Databases:
UNEP World Conservation Monitoring Centre; includes species, protected areas, national bioversity profiles.

Coral Reef Conservation Program:
search for coral datasets and publications from the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA).

Endangered Species Bulletin:
US Fish and Wildlife Service, provides updates on endangered species news. Current and archived issues available in PDF format.

Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority:
see the list of online publications, workshop series, research publication series.

IUCN Red List:
International Union for Conservation of Nature and Natural Resources maintains the Red List, which summarizes the conservation status of threatened and endangered species worldwide. 

NatureServe Explorer:
65,000+ plants, animals, and ecosystems of the United States and Canada, coverage for rare and endangered species.

NOAA Habitat Conservation:
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration site on protection and restoration efforts for coastal, marine, and riverine habitats.

ReefBase:
a global coral reef database of 25,000+ coral reef – related publications, and an interactive mapping tool.

Special Status Species:
CERES (California Environmental Resources Evaluation System) portal to state and federal government information about special status species. 

US Fish & Wildlife Service Endangered Species Program:
Endangered Species Act species information, laws and polices, and procedural information. 

Selected Resources

Birds of North America
database available to the UC Berkeley community, features detailed species accounts of every bird species in North America, prepared by experts on the species.

FishBase
database on the ecology, life history, distribution, and more of fish species around the globe. see tool to create lists of fish species by country. 

Herplit Database
database of literature related to amphibians and reptiles. 

HerpNET
portal for herpetological specimens from a network of museum collections. 

Mammalian species
Taxonomic information about mammals, numbers 1-761 of the American Society of Mammalogists’ Mammalian Species accounts.

PrimateLit: database of primate-related books and literature, funded by an NIH grant to support primate research.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.