Skip to main content

Natural History & Zoology: Write, Cite, Present

What are?

Reference managers help you manage your research, collect and cite sources & create bibliographies in a variety of citation styles.  Compare  Many reference managers plug-into word processing software to format in-text citations and bibliographies for papers and theses, allow you to share references, and enable you to attach or link PDFs to a citation record.
Wikipedia comparison of reference management software

Widely used citation managers:

  • Free to UC Berkeley users
  • Works with Word and Google Docs (UCB has Google Docs access via bDrive)
  • Works with Word 2016 (Mac)
  • Drag and drop PDF files to create a new reference in RefWorks
  • More sharing options: You can share with various permission levels
  • Web-based: use with internet access
  • Format bibliographies in Word
  • Import citations from RSS feeds
  • Use UC-eLinks to find the full text of articles from within RefWorks
  • Share lists of references or create a group account for co-editing.

  • Free 30 day trial: or purchase with Student/ Academic price Endnote.com
  • Desktop-based software plus EndNote Web
  • Format bibliographies in Word or Open Office
  • Capture citation data from PDFs
  • Annotate PDFs
  • Use UC-eLinks to find the full text of articles from within EndNote
  • Share lists of references with other EndNote users. See our EndNote page for tutorials and additional information.
  • See our EndNote Support page for tutorials and additional information

Zotero

  • Free (up to 300 MB web storage) browser extension
  • Sync Zotero to access your library from any computer with internet access
  • Format bibliographies in Word and OpenOffice
  • Capture citation data from PDFs and web pages
  • Share and collaboratively edit lists of references
  • Open source software from the Center for History and New Media, George Mason University

  • Free (up to 2 GB web storage) software/web hybrid for PC, Mac, Linux
  • Format bibliographies in Word or Open Office
  • Sync PDFs to your web account for online access
  • Capture citation data from some PDFs
  • Search and annotate PDFs
  • Share and collaboratively edit lists of references
  • From Elsevier

 The TeX logo

  • a typesetting language used for scientific document preparation.
  • LaTeX is a program that converts a plain text file into TeX.
  • BibTeX is a tool that can be used with LaTeX to create documents and bibliographies. http://www.latex-project.org.
  • Tools are free to download.
  • The TeX Users Group (TUG) includes an FAQ, links to software.
  • Endnote has a BibTeX output style that will format your citations into TeX.

Papers

  • is low-cost software that allows you to search, retrieve, organize, and annotate article PDFs.
  • export references into citation management tools like EndNote to use the citation and bibliography formatting features.

Software for Science Reference Management

  • web-list of many bibliographic management programs for the PC or Mac, some are free.

Citation Research

Citation counts measure the impact of a publication, an author or a topic by counting the number of times cited by other works. No Single citation analysis source covers all publications and their cited references.

The major citation count resources:
1. Web of Science: most interdisciplinary and comprehensive citation resource.

2. Google Scholar
  -- citation information from scholarly journal articles within the Scholar database and from the U.S. patents contained in the Google Patents database.
 -- Option to eliminate the patents as the source of citation data and/or the option to include citations from legal journals and opinions.
  -- If a publication has been cited by these sources, it will contain a "Cited By Link" in its entry; clicking on that link will display the citing journal articles and patents (and the court opinions, if selected)


How to find citation Counts via Google Scholar and Who is Citing....
 -- Select Advanced Scholar Search (link to right of search button).
 -- Enter the appropriate search terms
 -- Enter just enough information to find what you need - do not fill in the complete search form.
 -- Click on the Search Scholar button.
 -- Locate the correct article in the search results list.
 -- If the article was cited by others, you will see a "Cited by" link at the bottom of the record. Click this link to view who has cited this item. For more information about searching see Google Scholar's Help pages.

Be Aware:
-- Google Scholar does not index all scholarly articles.
-- Author names can be tricky to search and results can vary depending on how the name is entered.
-- Variants in how the item is cited can result in more than one entry for the item under study.
-- The term "citation" in brackets [CITATION] at the beginning of an entry, indicates that the full text of the item is not accessible through Google Scholar.

3. Others: Some disciplines, journals and document types may not be represented

-- Use other indexes: Proquest, BioOne abstracts and more.
-- Use publishers website: Wiley, Elsevier (ScienceDirect), SciFinder Scholar, JSTOR

Images

Beautiful Evidence / Edward R. Tufte. P93.5 .T837 2006. Cheshire, Conn.: Graphics Press, 2006.

Envisioning Information / Edward R. Tufte. 10th printing, Mar. 2005. ed. Cheshire, Conn.: Graphics Press, 1990, 2005. P93.5 .T84 2005

The Visual Display of Quantitative Information / Edward R. Tufte . 2nd ed. Cheshire, Conn.: Graphics Press, 2001. HA31 .T914 2001.

Visual Explanations: Images and Quantities, Evidence and Narrative / Edward R. Tufte. 7th prt, revisions, June 2005. ed. Cheshire, Conn.: Graphics Press, 2005. BF241 .T83 2005

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.