Skip to main content

Zoology & Natural History: Taxonomy

Taxonomy Selected Resources

Amphibian Species of the World.
From the American Museum of Natural History.

The Arbor Day Foundation - Tree Taxonomy guide

Catalog of Fishes
William N. Eschmeyer. California Academy of Sciences, 3 volumes, c1998. Online version contains some newer material. LSF TL618 C38 1998

Common and Scientific Names of Fishes
from the United States, Canada, and Mexico, American Fisheries Society Special Publication 34 CSSSI Reference QL627 C66X 2013 (LC)

Describing Species: Practical Taxonomic Procedure for Biologists
by Judith E. Winston. Columbia University Press, 1999. An aid to those doing taxonomic work. LSF QH83 W57X 1999

Eponym Dictionary of Amphibians
by B. Beolens, M. Watkins, M. Grayson. Pelagic Publishing, 2013. CSSSI QL640.7 B455 2013 (LC)

FishBase - Names, pictures, references, glossary

Index Animalium
by Charles Davies Sherborn. covers animal names 1758-1850. In 1902, the first part was published, with animal genus and species name listings beginning with published literature from 1758 and including both fossil and living animals. The second part, 8 volumes, was published in 1922 and covers the literature of named animals from 1801 to 1850.
HathiTrust: http://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/008594290

International Code of Zoological Nomenclature (ICZN).
The code, now in its 4th edition, is the set of rules for naming and registering names of organisms, as adopted by the International Commission on Zoological Nomenclature and passed by the International Union of Biological Sciences. The 3rd edition was published in 1985 and the first in the early 1960s. The content of the latest edition supercedes that of the previous editions. Text is in both English and French. Includes a code of ethics and glossary. LSF QL353 I5 1999

Latin Names Explained. A Guide to the Scientific Classification of Reptiles, Birds & Mammals
by A.F. Gotch. Facts on File, 1995. Gives brief explanations for Order and Family names, common names. LSF QL9 G67 1996

Nomenclator Zoologicus
list of the names of genera and subgenera in zoology from the tenth edition of Linnaeus 1758 to the end of 1935 by Sheffield Airey Neave. This set of four volumes plus three supplements began publication in 1939 by the Zoological Society of London. Publication was completed in 1965. Provided are original name references (genus and subgenus) to published or privately printed literature of zoology, 1758-1965. CSSSI QL354 N65

Nomenclator Animalium Generum et Subgenerum
by FE Schulze and W Kukenthal. A work with lengthy bibliography at the start. Published 1926-1956, in Berlin. Use in consultation with other sources. CSSSI QL354 N6 (LC) Oversize 5 volumes

The Reptile Database -
Taxonomic data on over 10,000 living species of lizards, snakes, tuataras, crocodiles, amphisbaenians, and turtles. From the German Herpetological Society's Systematics Working

The Taxonomy Database, NCBI.
Curated classification and nomenclature for all of the organisms in the public sequence databases. This currently represents about 10% of the described species of life on the planet. http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/taxonomy

Tree of Life:
Taxon pages in development, most contain images, references, and taxonomic information. 

Treebase:
database of trees derived from phylogenetic analyses. Search by taxon, author, citation, and more. Results include bibliographic information and phylogenetic trees pulled from the studies.

ZooBank.
The Official Register of the International Commission on Zoological Nomenclature (ICZN).

Zoological Record Taxonomic Hierarchy:
Taxonomic data and references for species descriptions: animal, plant, and virus taxa found in  Web of Sci, BIOSIS and Zoological Record.

Zootaxa
founded in 2001 as a print and online journal of systematic zoology. It was designed to help systematic zoologists to rapidly document and analyze world’s zoological diversity, which includes many undescribed species now threatened by the rapid loss of habitats. Overcoming the ‘taxonomic impediment’ by helping taxonomists to rapidly document world’s undescribed animals is Zootaxa’s main mission.

Biodiversity Tools

Animal Diversity Web:
species accounts and taxonomic data for a wide array of animal species. Higher taxa have overview entries. Maintained by University of Michigan’s Museum of Zoology

Consortium of California Herbaria:
locate specimens housed in herbaria throughout the state. Specimen records are linked, where applicable, to species accounts, California range maps, and other resources.

Encyclopedia of Life:
an online reference source and database for 1.8 million species named and known on this planet. Species accounts include images, taxonomic data, life history, distribution, ecology, and references.

ePIC, Electronic Plant Information Centre (Kew):
search Kew Royal Botanical Gardens’ checklists, databases, bibliographies, and publications. Particularly useful for taxonomic queries: search the International Plant Names Index and checklists.

FishBase:
database contains information about ecology, life history, distribution, and more of fish species around the globe. Includes  a tool to create lists of fish species by country.

Global Biodiversity Information Facility:
portal to biodiversity datasets. Data accessed by species, country, or dataset. 

Hawaii Biological Survey:
produced by the Hawaii Biological Survey, includes checklists of fauna and flora, catalogs of museum specimens, and technical reports of the Bishop Museum.

Index to Organism Names.
OIN contains the organism names related data gathered from the scientific literature for Thomson Reuters' Zoological Record® database. Viruses, bacteria and plant names will be added from other Thomson Reuters databases such as BIOSIS Previews®.

Integrated Taxonomic Information System:
“authoritative taxonomic information on plants, animals, fungi, and microbes of North America and the world” 

Mammal Species of the World:
mammalian taxonomy based on Wilson & Reeder's Mammal Species of the World. A Taxonomic and Geographic Reference. 3rd ed. Baltimore: Johns Hopkins University Press, 2005.

Mammalian Species:
Taxonomic information about mammals, numbers 1-761 of the American Society of Mammalogists’ Mammalian Species accounts.

NatureServe Explorer:
information on 65,000+ plants, animals, and ecosystems of the United States and Canada. 

Nomenclator Zoologicus:
names and bibliographic origins of the genera and subgenera in zoology from the tenth edition of Linnaeus 1758 to the end of 2004.

People, Biodiversity and Ecology: access to publications from UNESCO programs on international biodiversity issues. 

Regional Species Lists, Molluscs: by the Conchological Society of America, directory of regional checklists and species accounts of mollusks around the world.

Species 2000: annual checklist compiling taxonomic information contained in 52 taxonomic databases. Records contain taxonomic data and links to original database records. 

Tree of Life: Taxon pages in development, most contain images, references, and taxonomic information. 

Treebase: database of trees derived from phylogenetic analyses. Search by taxon, author, citation, and more. Results include bibliographic information and phylogenetic trees pulled from the studies.

UC Museum of Paleontology- History of Life Through Time: tree of life by clicking on taxa of interest for evolutionary history. Articles have references and links for further information.

Virus Taxonomy Online: taxonomic information and genus/species accounts of viruses; maintained by the International Committee on Taxonomy of Viruses. 

World List of Marine, Freshwater & Terrestrial Crustacea Isopoda: Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History maintains site, features a taxonomic database of isopod species and a bibliography of species descriptions.

Zoological Record Taxonomic Hierarchy: taxonomic data and references for species descriptions for all animal, plant, and virus taxa found within Thomson databases including BIOSIS and ZooRecord.

Zoonomen: Zoological Nomenclature Resource: continually updated nomenclature and species descriptions for birds.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.