Skip to main content
- Adaptive reuse of churches: a bibliography of recent periodical literature / Mary Ellen Huls. Monticello, Ill. : Vance Bibliographies, .
- Cities and churches : an international bibliography / by Loyde H. Hartley; foreword by Martin E. Marty. Metuchen, N.J.: American Theological Library Association and Scarecrow Press, 1992.
- Early Christian and Byzantine architecture: an annotated bibliography and historiography / W. Eugene Kleinbauer. Boston, Mass.: G.K. Hall, c1992.
*very good for sources for building elements.
- Religion and the American experience, 1620-1900: a bibliography of doctoral dissertations, Arthur P. Young and E. Jens Holley, comps. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1992.
- Religion and the American experience, the twentieth century: a bibliography of doctoral dissertations, Arthur P. Young and E. Jens Holley, comps. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1994.
- Romanesque architecture: a bibliography / Martin Davies. New York, NY : G.K. Hall, c1993.
Use to clarify terminology and get general information, names, dates.
- Art & architecture thesaurus. Supplement 1 / Toni Petersen, director. New York: Oxford University Press, 1992
- The concise dictionary of architectural and design history / Frederic H. Jones.Los Altos, Ca.:Crisp Publications,1992.
- The concise Oxford dictionary of the Christian Church /E.A.Livingstone. 2nd ed.Oxford :Oxford Univ Press, 2000.
- Dictionary of Islamic architecture / Andrew Petersen. London ; New York : Routledge, 1996.
- Dictionary of subjects and symbols in art / James Hall ; introd. by Kenneth Clark. Rev. ed. New York : Harper & Row, 1979, c1974.
- Glossary of art, architecture & design since 1945 / John A. Walker; foreword by Clive Phillpot. 3rd ed., rev., enl., and illustrated. Boston, Mass.: G.K. Hall, 1992.
- Historical dictionary of Reformed Churches / Robert Benedetto, Darrell L. Guder, Donald K. McKim. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 1999.
- Oxford Art Online UCBOnly Contains articles on every aspect of the visual arts - painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts and photography from prehistory to the present day.
- Pocket dictionary of theological terms / Stanley J. Grenz, David Guretzki & Cherith Fee Nordling. Downers Grove, Ill.: InterVarsity Press, c1999.
Encyclopedias & Atlases
- Case studies in archaeology and world religion : the proceedings of the Cambridge Conference / edited by Timothy Insoll. Oxford : Archaeopress, c1999.
- The design encyclopedia / Mel Byars. New York : Wiley, c1994.
- Encyclopedia of Religion -- contains an extensive collection of signed articles on the theoretical, practical and sociological aspects of religion, including extensive coverage of non-Western religions.
- Encyclopedia of sacred places / Norbert C. Brockman. New York : Oxford University Press, c1998.
- Encyclopedia of science and religion / J. Wentzel Vrede van Huyssteen, editor in chief. New York: Macmillan Reference; [Detroit, Mich.] : Thomson Gale, c2003. This set has more than 400 articles written by experts who highlight the effects of major scientific discoveries on world religions. It includes entries such as Buddhism, Economics, Evil and Suffering, Language, Reproductive Technology, and String Theory. The articles range from definitions to essays and discussions of the religious and scientific perspectives of the issues. Also includes contemporary issues, Eastern traditions, and disciplines outside of science and religion.
- Encyclopedia of vernacular architecture of the world / edited by Paul Oliver. Cambridge, U.K. ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 1997.
- Historical atlas of religions / Karen Farrington. New York : Checkmark Books, c2002.
- The Routledge historical atlas of religion in America / Bret E. Carroll Scales differ. New York : Routledge, 2000. Routledge atlases of American history.
- Religious leaders of America: a biographical guide to founders and leaders of religious bodies, churches, and spiritual groups in North America / J. Gordon Melton. 2d ed. Detroit, MI : Gale Research, c1999.
- Understanding art: a reference guide to painting, sculpture, and architecture in the Romanesque, Gothic, Renaissance, and Baroque periods. Armonk, NY: M.E. Sharpe, 2000.
Directories & Guidebooks
Use subheading --guidebooks or --directories with a subject search.
- Berkeley landmarks : an illustrated guide to Berkeley, California's architectural heritage / Susan Dinkelspiel Cerny. Berkeley, CA, Berkeley Architectural Heritage Association, Rev. ed, 2001.
- The churches and catacombs of early Christian Rome : a comprehensive guide/ Matilda Webb. Brighton, Great Britain ; Portland, Or.: Sussex Academic Press, 2001.
- A guide to places of worship in and around San Francisco / Elvira Monroe ; [photographs by Theoni Pappas]. San Carlos, CA : Wide World Pub., c1984.
- Irish churches and monasteries : an historical and architectural guide / Sean D. O'Reilly. Cork [Ireland]: Collins Press, 1997.
- Sacred places of San Francisco / narrative by Ruth Hendricks Willard and Carol Green Wilson; photographs by Roy Flamm ; .Novato, Calif. : Presidio Press, c1984.
- Sacred places : 101 spiritual sites around the world / written and illustrated by Brad Olsen. 1st ed. San Francisco : Consortium of Collective Consciousness; Chicago: Distributed to the retail trade by Independent Publishers Group, c2000.
- World Council of Churches : Yearbook 2001. Geneva: World Council of Churches.