Skip to main content

Beatrix Farrand: A Bibliography of Her Life and Work : Farrand's Writings and Work

A selective bibliography of books, journal articles, and newspaper reports by and about Farrand.

Farrand's Writings

Here is a selected chronological list of Farrand's published writings. Her personal and professional correspondence, and other unpublished writing, are held in the Environmental Design Archives, and other archival collections (see the Finding Unpublished Material section of this guide).

Farrand's Writings 1893-1900

Farrand's Writings 1901-1910
Farrand's Writings 1911-1920
Farrand's Writings 1921-1930
  • Decoration of building walls: notes on photographs of planting at Princeton, Landscape Architecture, 14:4 (July 1924), p. 267.
Farrand's Writings 1931-1940
  • Landscape gardening at Princeton, Princeton Alumni Weekly, 31:33 (May 29, 1931), pp. 819-831. Illustrated with photographs. At the time she wrote the article, Farrand was Consulting Landscape Gardener for Princeton.
  • The Library courtyard and its fountain, Yale University Library Gazette, 11 (1937), p. 38.
Farrand's Writings 1941-1950
  • Beatrix Farrand's Plant book for Dumbarton Oaks, Diane Kostial McGuire, ed. Washington: Dumbarton Oaks, Trustees for Harvard Univ., 1980. Originally written in 1941.
  • Dumbarton Oaks: an historical setting for the making of history, Landscape architecture, 34 (July 1944), pp. 131-135. Illustrated with black and white photographs.
  • Reef Point Gardens bulletin, Bar Harbor, ME: The Max Farrand Memorial Fund. 1:1-14 (1946-55). Most issues contain one brief article, sometimes illustrated with plans or photographs. Farrand contributed to almost every issue.
  • Reef Point Gardens: the start and the goal of a study in landscape gardening, Landscape Architecture, 37:1 (October 1946), pp. 12-13.
  • Contemplated landscape changes at the Arnold Arboretum, Arnoldia, 6:10 (November 1946), pp. 45-48.
  • The Azalea border, Arnoldia, 9:2 (April 1949), pp. 6-7.
  • Peters Hill, Arnoldia, 9:9 (October 1949), pp. 38-43.
Farrand's Writings 1951-1955
  • Reef Point Gardens bulletin, Bar Harbor, ME: The Max Farrand Memorial Fund. 1:1-14 (1946-55). Most issues contain one brief article, sometimes illustrated with plans or photographs. Farrand contributed to almost every issue.
  • -----.The Bulletins of Reef Point Gardens. Intro. by Paula Deitz. Bar Harbor, ME: Island Foundation; Sagaponack, NY: Dist. by Sagapress, 1997.

Farrand's Work

Project Lists
  • Balmori, Diana, et al., Beatrix Farrand's Commissions 1891-1949, IN: Beatrix Farrand's American landscapes: her gardens and campuses, Sagaponack, NY: Sagapress, 1985, Appendix, pp. 197-202. Lists 170 projects, organized chronologically; includes undated commissions.
  • Beatrix Farrand: a list of her work, made by Mrs. Farrand about 1950 , IN: Bliss, Mrs. Robert Woods, Beatrix Jones Farrand, 1872-1959: an appreciation of a great landscape gardener, [Washington?], DC: Mrs. Robert Woods Bliss, 1960, pp. 49-51. Lists 60 projects, organized by client.
  • Designing the Maine landscape, by Theresa Mattor and Lucie Teegarden. [Camden, ME]: Down East Books; Maine Olmsted Alliance for Parks & Landscapes; distrib. by National Book Network. Includes a section on Farrand and her work; lists her projects in Maine, including some not listed in the Project Index.
  • UCB Environmental Design Archives maintains a Project index (excel file). In spreadsheet format, lists and describes the 216 projects documented in the College of Environmental Design Archives. Descriptions include project and/or client name, date(s) (the most recent 1950 for John D. Rockefeller in Seal Harbor, begun in 1926), location, project type, document type(s), collaborator, and photographer.
Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.