Historic Preservation: A Guide to Resources: Reference Sources
Historic Preservation is a guide to strategies and resources for students beginning research on the conservation, preservation or restoration of historic buildings, landscapes or cities, with an emphasis on California and the Bay Area.
Illustrated dictionary of architectural preservation. Ernest Burden. New York: McGraw-Hill, 2004.
The Penguin dictionary of architecture and landscape architecture, by John Fleming, Hugh Honour, Nikolaus Pevsner. 5th ed. NY: Penguin Books, 1998.
A Planners dictionary, by Michael Davidson and Fay Dolnick, eds. Chicago: American Planning Association, Planning Advisory Service, 2004. (PAS Report, no. 521/522). Book with CD-ROM. Contains definitions of more than 4,000 terms used in "the preparation of ordinances and... other documents that control and shape the built environment."
[Stylistic] glossary, IN: The Guide to architecture in San Francisco and northern California, by David Gebhard, et al. Rev. ed. Salt Lake City: G.M. Smith, 1985, pp. 553-583. Guide to San Francisco Bay Area architectural styles.
A visual dictionary of architecture / Francis D.K. Ching. New York : Van Nostrand Reinhold, c1995. Organized by basic aspects of architecture, terms are defined in their visual context. Alphabetical index in back.
Good starting places for background information, terminology, and bibliographies.
Encyclopedia of archaeology: history and discoveries, edited by Tim Murray. Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, c2001.
Encyclopedia of architecture: design, engineering & construction / Joseph A. Wilkes, editor-in-chief, Robert T. Packard,.... New York: Wiley, 1988-1990. Check index in vol. 5 for article on historic preservation and other related topics.
Encyclopedia of community: from the village to the virtual world / Karen Christensen & David Levinson, general editors. Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Sage Publications, c2003. Check index for several relevant articles.
Encyclopedia of historical archaeology, edited by Charles E. Orser, Jr. London; New York: Routledge, 2002.
Encyclopedia of 20th century architecture / R. Stephen Sennott, editor. New York: Fitzroy Dearborn, 2004. Includes article on historic preservation, and other helpful information.
Preservation yellow pages: the complete information source for homeowners, communities and professionals / National Trust for Historic Preservation, Rev. ed. New York: Wiley; [Washington, D.C.]: Preservation Press, c1997.
Architectural reconstructions : the aesthetics and methodology of the recreation of what was or might have been. Carole Cable. Monticello, Ill. : Vance Bibliographies,  Architecture series--bibliography ; A-2061
The City neighborhood: an architectural guide to preservation. Coppa & Avery Consultants. Monticello, Ill : Vance Bibliographies,  Architecture series--bibliography; A-409
Cultural and historic landscapes: a selected bibliography. Robert Z. Melnick. Monticello, Ill.: Vance Bibliographies, 1980. Architecture series--bibliography; A-343
Cultural landscape bibliography: an annotated bibliography on resources in the National Park System. Katherine Ahern. Washington, D.C.: Park Historic Architecture Division, Cultural Landscape Program, Washington Office, [National Park Service, U.S. Dept. of the Interior], 1992.
Historic American Buildings Survey/Historic American Engineering Record : an annotated bibliography, compiled by James C. ... [Washington, D.C.?]: Historic American Buildings Survey/Historic American Engineering Board, National Park Service, U.S. Dept. of the Interior, 1992.
Historic preservation law: an annotated survey of sources and literature. Gail I. Winson. Littleton, Colo. : F.B. Rothman & Co., 1999.
Local historic preservation plans: a selected annotated bibliography / Neil Gagliardi, Stephen Morris. Washington, D.C. : U.S. Dept. of the Interior, National Park Service, Cultural Resources : Branch of Preservation Planning, Interagency Resources Division, 
Making educated decisions 2: a landscape preservation bibliography, edited by Charles A. Birnbaum, Heather L. Barre... Washington, DC : Dept. of the Interior, National Park Service, Historic Landscape Initiative, 2000.
Preserving urban areas as architectural artifacts: journal articles, 1982-1988. Dale E. Casper. Monticello, Ill.: Vance Bibliographies,  Architecture series--bibliography; A-2243
Readings in historic preservation: an annotated bibliography to the key books and periodicals. James C. Massey. Washington, D.C.: National Preservation Institute, 1986.
Readings in historic preservation: why? what? how? edited by Norman Williams, Jr. & Edmund H. Kellogg and Frank B. Gilbert Piscataway, N.J.: Center for Urban Policy Research, Rutgers University, 1983
Rehabilitation of historic buildings: an annotated bibliography, edited by Frederec Ellsworth Kleyle. Washington, DC: U.S. Dept. of the Interior, Heritage Conservation and Recreation Service, Technical Preservation Services Division, 1980. TPS reports. HCRS publication; 32.
Vernacular architecture and its conservation: annotated bibliography, compiled by the Unesco-Icomos Documentati... [s.l.] : UNESCO, [1985?]. Studies and documents on the cultural heritage; 9