Skip to main content
History of Planning Practice
Here is a selection of primary and secondary sources for the study of the history of American planning practice.
- ACSP award history, Association of Collegiate Schools of Planning.  Covers awards given during the period 1981-1999.
- ASPO index to proceedings of national planning conferences, 1909-1961, Mary Vance, comp. Chicago: American Society of Planning Officials,  Also available online. Consult The Library's online catalogs to locate copies of the proceedings.
- National historic planning landmarks. American Institute of Certified Planners. The AICP National Historic Planning Landmarks award recognizes pioneering works, used as a precedent for other work, available for public use and viewing, and a minimum of 25 years old. The awards, which began in 1986, are usually announced in the April issue of the APA's Planning magazine. For a cumulative list of planning landmarks, see the latest edition of the Almanac of architecture and design.
- The National Planning Association at work: six decades of providing solutions to America's challenges. Washington, DC: National Planning Association, 1995. NPA report: no. 278.
- Planning and the planning profession; the past fifty years, 1917-1967, by Russell Van Nest Black. Washington, D.C.: American Institute of Planners, . Reviews the evolution of the planning profession and the American Institute of Planners.
- The Profession of city planning: changes, images, and challenges, 1950-2000, Lloyd Rodwin and Bishwapriya Sanyal, eds. New Brunswick, NJ: Center for Urban Policy Research, Rutgers, the State Univ. of New Jersey, 2000
See the following guide for more resources.
- Environmental planning for site development: a manual for sustainable local planning and design, by Anne R. Beer and Catherine Higgins. 2nd ed. NY: E & FN Spon, 2000.
- Landscape architecture: a manual of site planning and design, by John Ormsbee Simonds. 3rd ed. NY: McGraw-Hill, 1998.
- Site planning, by Kevin Lynch, Gary Hack. 3rd ed. Cambridge, MA: MIT Press, 1984.
- Site planning and design handbook, by Thomas H. Russ. NY: McGraw-Hill, 2009.
Handbooks & Manuals
Search the library catalogs for additional handbooks using the subject City planning handbooks manuals.
- Administrative manual for consulting planners. [Washington]: American Society of Consulting Planners, 1992. Addresses the administrative and managerial aspects of conducting a planning practice. Includes the Society's Code of professional conduct.
- The Ahwahnee principles for smart economic development: an implementation guidebook, by Rick Cole. [Sacramento, CA]: Local Government Commission's Center for Livable Communities, .
- The Charrette handbook: the essential guide for accelerated, collaborative community planning, by the National Charrette Institute. Chicago, IL: American Planning Association, 2006.
- The Conservation easement handbook, by Elizabeth Byers, Karin Marchetti Ponte. 2nd ed., rev. and expanded. San Francisco, CA: Trust for Public Land, 2005.
- County planners notebook. Washington, DC: National Association of County Planners, 1994--.
- The creative community builder's handbook : how to transform communities using local assets, art, and culture / by Tom Borrup ; with Partners for Livable Communities ; foreword by Robert McNulty.
- Development impact assessment handbook, by Robert W. Burchell ...[et al]. Washington, DC: Urban Land Institute, 1994.
- GIS and mapping: pitfalls for planners, by Robert B. Kent and Richard E. Klosterman. IN: Journal of the American Planning Association, vol. 66: 2 (spring 2000), pp.189-198. Includes bibliography.
- Little budget book: a portable budgeting guide for local government, by Len Wood. [Rancho Palos Verdes, CA]: Training Shoppe, 1993. Non-technical guide to preparing and analyzing budgets.
- Managing geographic information system projects, by William E. Huxhold, Allan G. Levinsohn. NY: Oxford University Press, 1995.
- Managing public sector projects : a strategic framework for success in an era of downsized government / David S. Kassel.
- Managing small cities and counties: a practical guide. Edited by James M. Banovetz, Drew A. Dolan, John W. Swain. Washington, DC: Published for the ICMA Training Institute by the International City/County Management Association, 1994. Includes annotated bibliographies.
- Measuring landscapes: a planner's handbook UCB only via ebrary / by Andre Botequilha Leitao, [et al.]. Washington, DC: Island Press, 2006. Also ebook. Handbook of landscape metrics.
- Planners pocket guide. Sacramento: League of California Cities, . Designed as a comprehensive tool in a compact package to allow for easy use during meetings and public presentations. Includes a glossary and fold-out charts.
- Residential development handbook, [principal author and project director, Adrienne Schmitz]. 3rd ed. Washington, DC: Urban Land Institute, 2004.
- The Small town planning handbook, by Thomas L. Daniels, John W. Keller, Mark B. Lapping. 2nd ed. Chicago: American Planning Association, 1995. Covers the range of planning issues for non-urban places and is "intended for use in small cities, rural counties, and towns of about 1,000 to 10,000 people."
- Urban construction project management, by Richard Lambeck and John Eschemuller. NY: McGraw-Hill, 2009.
- Writing for design professionals: a guide to writing successful proposals, letters, brochures, portfolios, reports, presentations, and job applications for architects, engineers, and interior designers, by Stephen A. Kliment. NY: W.W. Norton, 2006.
The Regulatory Environment: United States
Items listed here concern the regulatory environment in the United States, with California-specific items listed further below. Related Environmental Design Library guides of interest include Finding General Plans, California Planning online, and Environmental Planning online. The latter title includes many useful links to full text environmental law websites. For titles pertaining to other countries and places, consult the Library's catalogs. Also note that the UC Berkeley Law Library, Boalt Hall, has excellent collections of land use and zoning laws.
- Complying with the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, Kathryn Shane McCarty, ed. Washington, DC: National League of Cities, 1991.
- Environmental law, by Nancy K. Kubasek and Gary S. Silverman. Upper Saddle River, NJ: Pearson Prentice Hall, 2008.
- Environmental law for non-lawyers, by David B. Firestone, Frank C. Reed. 3rd ed. South Royalton, VT: SoRo Press, 2004.
- Housing and development reporter. Washington, DC: Bureau of National Affairs, 1973--; semi-monthly updates. Up-to-date, detailed coverage of federal regulations and programs related to housing, urban and rural community development, changes in HUD, etc. Full text of some memos and directives.
- Land use regulation: a legal analysis & practical application of land use law,by Peter W. Salsich, Jr. & Timothy J. Tryniecki. Chicago: Real Property, Probate and Trust Law, American Bar Association, 1998.
- A Legal guide to urban and sustainable development for planners, developers, and architects, by Daniel K. Slone and Doris S. Goldstein. Hoboken, NJ: Wiley, 2008.
- Mastering NEPA: a step-by-step approach, by Ronald E. Bass, Albert I. Herson. Point Arena, CA: Solano Press Books, 1993. Designed to provide a simplified framework for understanding NEPA and incorporating it into an agency's day-to-day activities.
- Model subdivision regulations: planning and law: a complete ordinance and annotated guide to planning practice and legal requirements, by Robert H. Freilich and Michael M. Schultz. 2nd ed. Chicago: Planner Press, American Planning Association, 1995.
- Nature-friendly ordinances: local measures to conserve biodiversity, by James M. McElfish Jr. Washington, DC: Environmental Law Institute, 2004.
- Redevelopment: planning, law, and project implementation: a guide for practitioners, Brian W. Blaesser and Thomas P. Cody, eds. Chicago: ABA Section of State and Local Government Law, 2008. Online table of contents.
- Takings law in plain English, by Christopher J. Duerksen and Richard J. Roddewig. Washington, DC: American Resources Information Network, 1994.
- Wetlands, streams, and other waters: regulation, conservation, mitigation planning, by Paul D. Cylinder, et al. 2nd ed. Point Arena, CA: Solano Press Books, 2004.
- Zoning and planning law handbook. Mark S. Dennison, ed. NY: Clark Boardman Co., 1981--; annual. Presents a comprehensive review and analysis of the significant recent developments and projected trends in the land use and zoning field.
The Regulatory Environment: California
See also the California Resources Agency, a great source for full text, up-to-date planning information.
- California transportation law: a guide to federal, state and regional requirements, by Jeremy G. March. Point Arena, CA: Solano Press, 2000.
- CEQA, California Environmental Quality Act: statutes and guidelines. Sacramento: Governor's Office of Planning and Research, Office of Permit Assistance.
- CEQA deskbook. Point Arena, CA: Solano Press. Overview of existing requirements for adequate environmental review. Included are an examination of the statute, implementing guidelines and current case law, as well as an appendix with case summaries of cases most often citied" and text of statutes.
- Curtin's California land-use and planning law. Berkeley: Solano Press, 1984--; annual.
- General plan guidelines (PDF). State of California, Office of Planning and Research. Sacramento: The Office, 2003. Officially interprets and explains the requirements of California planning law. Covers the 9 required elements and the process of preparation and implementation of the general plan.
- Land-use initiatives and referenda in California, by Michael P. Durkee .... [et al.]. Point Arena, CA: Solano Press Books, 1990; annual supplements. Overview of the legal aspects of "ballot-box zoning."
- A Legal guide to California redevelopment. Prepared by the law offices of Goldfarb & Lipman. Goldfarb & Lipman, 1991.
- Longtin's California land use: planning, zoning, building, by James Longtin. Malibu: Dist. by Local Government Publications, 1987. Updated by supplements.
- Planning, zoning, and development laws. Sacramento: State of California, Office of Planning and Research. Current California statutory planning law compiled as technical assistance for local planning agencies. Includes Subdivision Map Actand miscellaneous planning-related laws.
- Redevelopment in California. Point Arena, CA: Solano Press. Annual supplements.
- Architectural graphic standards. NY: Wiley.
- International environmental standards handbook UC Only via ENVIROnetBASE / by Scott S. Olson. Boca Raton: Lewis Publishers, 1999.
- Landscape architectural graphic standards, Leonard J. Hopper, editor-in-chief. Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley & Sons, 2007.
- Planning and urban design standards. American Planning Association. Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley & Sons, 2006.
- Planning and urban design standards, by Frederick Steiner, Kent Butler, American Planning Association. Hoboken, NJ: J. Wiley, 2007.
- The Secretary of the Interior's standards for the treatment of historic properties: with guidelines for the treatment of cultural landscapes, Charles A. Birnbaum, ed., with Christine Capella Peters. Washington, D.C.: U.S. Dept. of Interior, National Park Service, Cultural Resource Stewardship and Partnerships, Heritage Preservation Services, Historic Landscape Initiative, 1996.
- Time-saver standards for housing and residential development. Joseph De Chiara, et al., ed. 2nd ed. NY: McGraw-Hill, 1995. A comprehensive source of architectural design data for housing and residential development. Though technical and practical, it does not include engineering design data. Graphic presentation throughout.
- Time-saver standards for landscape architecture: design and construction data, co-eds., Charles W. Harris, Nicholas T. Dines. 2nd ed. NY: McGraw-Hill, 1998.
- Time-saver standards for site planning, Joseph De Chiara, Lee E. Koppelman. NY: McGraw-Hill, 1984.
- Time-saver standards for urban design, Donald Watson, Alan Plattus, Robert G. Shibley, eds. New York: McGraw-Hill, 2003. Online table of contents.
For the Planning Commissioner
- The Citizen's guide to planning, by Christopher J. Duerksen, C. Gregory Dale, and Donald L. Elliott. 4th ed. Chicago: American Planning Association, 2009. Good straightforward introduction to city planning.
- Commissioner's little handbook: a portable guide for local government advisory board members, by Len Wood. Rancho Palos Verdes, CA: Len Wood and Associates, 1992. A portable reference source for commissioners, elected officials and staff. Topics include roles & responsibilities, meeting framework, and building teamwork.
- The Planning commissioner and the California dream: plan it again, Sam, by Marjorie W. Macris. Point Arena, CA: Solano Press Books, 2004.
- The Planning commissioner's book, Calif. Governor's Office of Planning and Research, 1998. Describes tools available to newly appointed California planning commissioners to do their job. Sections include: the planning commission; legal side of planning; state planning law; glossary; bibiliography.
- Planning made easy: a manual for planning commissioners, members of zoning boards of appeal, and trainers, by William Toner, et al. Chicago: American Planning Assoc., 1994. Includes sections on zoning and comprehensive plans, as well as a module on planning ethics. Looseleaf format.
- Regulating place: standards and the shaping of urban America, Eran Ben-Joseph and Terry S. Szold, eds. NY: Routledge, 2005.