Skip to main content

California Landscape Architecture & Gardens: Primary Research

California Landscape Architecture and Gardens is a selective bibliographic research guide to UC Berkeley library and web resources on the history of California landscape architecture.

Archives

Archives, historical societies, and local libraries can be excellent sources of primary research materials in landscape architecture. To locate materials in libraries not listed in the Melvyl catalog, use WorldCat - UC Only. Some of these materials will be available via the Interlibrary Borrowing Service.

Municipal archives: Municipal archives can be a fabulous source of primary research material. Many cities, counties, etc., maintain archives of historical municipal records, ranging from meeting and office records to maps, vital records, photographs, plans, parks and recreation planning, and much more. These archives are managed in diverse ways: as a separate department, as a function within an individual department, as part of the public library, etc.

Historical Societies

Libraries

UC Berkeley Libraries

  • Architecture Visual Resources Library, 492 Wurster Hall - Collection of 35mm slides & more. Emphasis on architecture, but also includes landscape & urban history. Open to UC Berkeley faculty & graduate students.
  • The Bancroft Library - Significant Western Americana collection. Rare books & archives. Noncirculating only. No photocopying allowed.
  • Bioscience & Natural Resources Library, 2101 Valley Life Sciences Building - Collection includes California horticultural information.
  • Earth Sciences & Map Library, 50 McCone Hall - The best campus source for maps & aerial photos.
  • Environmental Design Library, 210 Wurster Hall - One of the premier architecture, landscape architecture, and city and regional planning libraries in North America. Strong emphasis on California.

Special Libraries: Here is a selection of California landscape, horticultural, or gardening libraries. See also Libweb for a list of California public, academic, and special libraries

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.