Skip to main content

Landscape Architecture Resources: Biographical Information

Landscape Architecture Resources is a collective of research guides consisting of selective list of landscape and landscape architecture resources.

General Biography

In addition to titles listed here, go to Biographical Sources for a list of links to full-text biographical sources on the web.

Search Terms

To search for books about landscape architects as a group, in the library catalogs, the following Library of Congress subject headings may be useful.

Architecture--Film catalogs 
Architecture--Videotape catalogs 
Autobiography 
Gardeners--Biography 
Landscape architects--Biography 
Landscape architects--[place name
Landscape architects--[place name]--Correspondence
Landscape architects--[place name]--Exhibitions 
Landscape architects--[place name]--Interviews 
Landscape architects--Directories 
Landscape architects--Homes and haunts 
Landscape architects--Interviews 
Landscape architecture--History 
Women landscape architects
 

Modify these searches with the addition of descriptive terms (subheadings). The following subheadings may be especially useful:

-Aesthetics 
-Archives 
-Autobiographies 
-Catalogs
-Correspondence 
-Criticism & interpretation 
-Diaries 
-Exhibitions
-Influence 
-Interviews 
-Journeys 
-Knowledge and learning

 

Remember to search for a landscape architect's firm name as well as his/her personal name. For example, search for both the personal name eckbo garrett and the corporate name garrett eckbo associates.

Specialized Biographies

Directories

Obituaries

Obituaries frequently include synopses of an individual's professional life and contributions and often appear in newspapers.

Archives

Archival finding aids. Guides or finding aids to archival collections related to individual people usually include useful and succinct biographies of those individuals. Many finding aids can be located via the following web-based archives as well as through the library catalogs:

Journal & Newspaper Articles

Biographies may be found in journal and newspaper articles; note that newspaper articles on contemporary projects can be useful sources of biographical information. In addition to the indexes listed here, some newspapers are available full text on the web; information regarding archives of older issues is sometimes available at these sites.

See also the Indexes and Abstracts section of this guide.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.