How to find articles and databases: Finding Databases

Help Finding Databases

To find a good database for your research topic:

  1. General article databases are a good place to start since they contain resources from a variety of disciplines. Simply choose one of those databases and type in your keywords to begin to find articles.
  2. Browse for databases by subject using the All Subjects dropdown for topics such as engineering, sociology, or history if you want to dig deeper into resources covering a specific discipline. If you aren’t sure what subject to choose, look for the academic department that your class is in.
    • Once you’ve chosen a subject, start your search by using one of the recommended databases that are listed at the top of the list.
  3. Browse for databases by type using the All Database Types dropdown if you want to find resources in specific formats, such as government documents, statistics, maps, images and more.For example:
    • News - Use this category to find newspaper articles, broadcast transcripts, wire service stories, etc.
    • Images (still)  - Use this category to find photographs, paintings and other still image sources.
    • Statistics and numeric data - Use this category to find statistical tables, numeric data, demographic information, public opinion polls, etc.
  4. Browse or search the entire A-Z list of library-licensed databases if you already know the name of the database you’d like to use.

Research help

Copyright © 2014-2015 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.