Skip to main content

Rare and Special Collections, EAL: Home

Rare and Special Collections, EAL

The Library’s Fong Yun Wah Rare Book Room holds approximately 40,000 items, from woodblock editions and manuscripts to graphics and ephemera. Rare materials may be paged, when the Library is open, between 9:00 and 4:30, Monday through Friday. Researchers are asked to contact language bibliographers or the rare book room curator in advance to ensure availability.

In addition to its general collection of rare Chinese, Japanese and Korean materials, the Fong Yun Wah Rare Book Room houses collections devoted to

  • Meiji literature (the Murakami Library)
  • Japanese historical maps
  • Japanese manuscripts
  • Sugoroku Game sheet
  • Mitsui tiny books
  • Meiji era songbooks (Meiji shōka)
  • Japanese copperplate print collection (Dōhanga korekushon)
  • Korean manuscripts and imprints (the Asami Library)
  • Chinese rubbings
  • Early Buddhist scriptures (the Ho-Chiang Collection)
  • Chinese political posters (the Ann Tompkins and Lincoln Cushing Collection)
  • Mongolian texts
  • Manchu texts
  • The John Fryer library

The East Asian Library’s open stacks also contain a number of special collections:

  • Wen shi zi liao
  • Art History Collection
  • Numata collection of Buddhist studies

 

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.