Skip to main content

Biological Sciences: Best for Articles

Start with

Use the best databases for articles, reports, papers, government documents. Start with databases listed below, use this link for many more, http://guides.lib.berkeley.edu/bioscience-databases

Best Databases for articles

Agriculture & Environmental Science
Find articles, conference proceedings, books, reports, and government publications in the environmental sciences. Includes Agricola, Toxline and ESPM, Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases [1960 - present]

BIOSIS Previews
Find articles, papers, and books on biological and biomedical topics. Includes literature reviews. [1926 - present.]

Google Scholar
+
Change Settings: Library Links search "Berkeley" choose "University of California Berkeley - UC-eLinks." for links to UC Berkeley full text resources.
+Change Settings: Bibliography Manager - click RefWorks or EndNote. to save to your own account.
Search articles, books, preprints, reports... (Reminder: specialized databases will provide depth to your search).

PubMed
Use UCB access for UC eLinks to full text articles and citations. PubMed Basics - use filters, 'and, or, not', track history, save to My NCBI. [1950 - present, dates vary.]

Scopus
Indexes journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences and more. 

Web of Science
Indexes leading journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences, search footnotes and citations. [1900 - present ].

Selected Databases

Statistics and Unique Data

My NCBI: search all databases, includes data, genetic

Statista
Statistics portal that integrates data from reliable sources provides access to quantitative facts on media, business, politics, and other areas. Sources include market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government sources. Data may be downloaded into spreadsheets and presentations. includes industry reports. UCB access only

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.