Skip to main content

Biological Sciences: Cite & Write

What?

Reference management tools let you keep track of your citations and pdfs, collect articles and data, share references, format bibliographies and add footnotes to your papers.
Refer to "Writing in the Biological Sciences" for more detailed information.

Reference management tools

RefWorks

  • Free to UC Berkeley users
  • Works with Word and Google Docs (UCB has Google Docs access via bDrive)
  • Works with Word 2016 (Mac)
  • Drag and drop PDF files to create a new reference in RefWorks
  • More sharing options: You can share with various permission levels
  • Web-based: use with internet access
  • Format bibliographies in Word
  • Import citations from RSS feeds
  • Use UC-eLinks to find the full text of articles from within RefWorks
  • Share lists of references or create a group account for co-editing.

EndNote

  • Academic price at EndNote.com
  • Desktop-based software plus EndNote Web
  • Format bibliographies in Word or Open Office
  • Capture citation data from PDFs
  • Annotate PDFs
  • Use UC-eLinks to find the full text of articles from within EndNote
  • Share lists of references with other EndNote users. See our EndNote page for tutorials and additional information.

Mendeley

  • Free (up to 2 GB web storage) software/web hybrid for PC, Mac, Linux
  • Format bibliographies in Word or Open Office
  • Sync PDFs to your web account for online access
  • Capture citation data from some PDFs
  • Search and annotate PDFs
  • Share and collaboratively edit lists of references

Zotero

  • Zotero guide
  • Free (up to 300 MB web storage) browser extension or standalone program
  • Sync Zotero to access your library from any computer with internet access
  • Format bibliographies in Word and OpenOffice
  • Capture citation data from PDFs and web pages
  • Share and collaboratively edit lists of references

Papers

  • Software/web hybrid for Mac and Windows
  • Format bibliographies in Word and Pages
  • Automatically import PDFs together with citation
  • Search, highlight and annotate PDFs

Images

Citation Research

Citation counts measure the impact of a publication, author or topic, by counting the number of times it is cited by other works. No Single citation analysis source covers all publications and their cited references.

Major citation count resources:
Web of Science: most interdisciplinary and comprehensive citation resource.
Google Scholar: citation information from scholarly journal articles within the Scholar database and from U.S. patents in Google Patents database. Option: eliminate the patents as a source of citation data or nclude citations from legal journals and opinions.

How to:
Select Advanced Scholar Search (link to right of search button).
Enter search terms:

  • Click Search Scholar button.
  • Locate the correct article in the search results list.
  • If the article was cited by others, you will see "Cited by" link at the bottom of the record.
  • Click this link to view who has cited this item. For more information see Google Scholar's Help pages.

Be Aware:
-- Google Scholar does not index all scholarly articles.
-- Author names can be tricky to search and results can vary depending on how the name is entered.
-- Variants in how the item is cited can result in more than one entry for the item under study.
-- The term "citation" in brackets [CITATION] at an entry, indicates that full text is not accessible through Google Scholar.

Other indexes: Proquest, BioOne abstracts and more.
Publishers website: Wiley, Elsevier (ScienceDirect), SciFinder Scholar, JSTOR

Science Writing

Books

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.