Skip to main content

Biological Sciences: Protocols

what is?

In the natural sciences a protocol is a written procedural method in the design and implementation of experiments.

Protocols

PubMed
excellent resource for recent protocols. (remember to use the UC Berkeley Link to get full text).

Cold Spring Harbor Protocols
collection of full-text scholarly monographs published by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory Press

Current Protocols [Wiley]
Current Protocols includes in Bioinformatics, Field Analytical Chemistry, and others.

Methods in Enzymology

Nature Protocols

Springer Protocols
Methods in Molecular Biology & Methods in Molecular Medicine - covers biochemistry, biotechnology, genetics, microbiology, molecular and cell biology, neuroscience, oncology, and proteomics.

CRC NetBase
This contains subject-oriented libraries of handbooks in different areas. Many of these do contain methods information.

Free Online Resources
  • OpenWetWare - online community for biology & bioengineering, featuring areas for sharing protocols, courses, lab info.
  • Protocol Online - web clearinghouse for labs to publish and share protocols
  • SciVee - videos from scientists and researchers discussing their research studies and posters.

Clinical Studies and Trials

ClinicalTrials.Gov.
A clinical study involves research using human volunteers (also called participants) that is intended to add to medical knowledge. There are two main types of clinical studies: clinical trials (also called interventional studies) and observational studies. ClinicalTrials.gov includes both interventional and observational studies.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.