Skip to main content

Biological Sciences: Reference

Use these first

Access Medicine
Includes Harrison's Online, Hurst's The Heart, Metabolic and Molecular Bases of Inherited Disease (MMBID), AccessLANGE, and CMDT Online.
AccessScience

AMA Manual of Style. American Medical Association.

Biochemistry, Biology & Biotechnology Handbooks, Knovel

Cochrane Library Online
Cochrane database of systematic reviews; Database of abstracts of reviews of effectiveness (DARE); Central register of controlled trials (CENTRAL); Database of methodology reviews; Methodology register; Health technology assessment database (HTA); and NHS Economic evaluation database (NHS EED)

Comprehensive Physiology
comprehensive collection of physiology information Boundary Stat!Ref electronic Medical Library

EcoSal Plus
Online review journal that covers all aspects of Escherichia coli and Salmonella: Cellular and Molecular Biology. A comprehensive archive of the entire corpus of knowledge about the enteric bacterial cell.

F1000 Prime
a post-publication peer review service that systematically evaluates articles published in the biomedical sciences, based on the recommendations of faculty. includes an open access repository of conference posters and The Scientist.

Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy
A series of healthcare books for medical professionals and consumers.

Merck Index, Cambridge: Royal Society of Chemistry

Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man
Catalog of human genes and genetic disorders. Contains links to MEDLINE, sequence records, and additional related resources. OMIM is intended for physicians and other professionals concerned with genetic disorders, by genetics researchers, and by advanced students in science and medicine.

eBook collections

E-books are available through OskiCat and Melvyl. Limit your search in OskiCat to "Available online," and in Melvyl to "Online resources."

for biological sciences

NCBI Bookshelf

PubMed Bookshelf
Search online full-text biomedical books available from NLM.
Click on Browse Titles, and select subjects to limit.

Sample titles available through PubMed Bookshelf:

Encyclopedias

General links

Biodiversity Heritage Library: consortium of the world's largest natural history libraries, includes digitized content.

BiologyBrowser: free biological databases, identification keys, and more.

Understanding Evolution: project of the University of California Museum of Paleontology and the National Center for Science Education.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.