Skip to main content
Here is a selection of topical research guides to UC Berkeley library and web resources for planning research. For additional topics please the complete list of guides.
- The Citizen's guide to planning, by Christopher J. Duerksen, C. Gregory Dale, and Donald L. Elliott. 4th ed. Chicago: American Planning Association, 2009. Good straight forward introduction to city planning.
- Doing urban research, by Gregory D. Andranovich, Gerry Riposa. Sage Publications, 1993. Focuses on some of the theoretical and practical knowledge needed to conduct research about cities. Includes research design and data collection.
- Information sources in urban and regional planning: a directory and guide to reference materials, by Edward E. Duensing. Center for Urban Policy Research, 1994. An annotated guide to the planning literature. Lists planning organizations, organized by discipline. Covers titles published since 1979.
- Social science reference sources: a practical guide, by Tze-chung Li. 3rd ed. Greenwood Pr., 2000. Approximately one third of the volume covers social sciences in general. The rest of the volume is devoted to the social science subdisciplines, including geography, economics, and sociology. Contains approximately 1,600 entries.
Architecture series: bibliography
Vance Bibliographies, 1978-1990. This prolific series contains material on architecture, landscape architecture, the environment and city planning. Varying quality. Cumulative author, subject, title, and numerical indexes
The Built environment: a subject index 1800-1960
Terence Russell. Distributed in the USA: Gower, 1989. 4 v. Vol. 1: Town planning and urbanism, architecture, gardens and landscape design. A bibliographic survey of the built environment, primarily an index of printed books, encyclopedias, catalogues, conference proceedings, etc.
City planning bibliography: a basic bibliography of sources and trends
George C. Bestor and Holway R. Jones. 3rd ed. American Society of Civil Engineers, 1972. Comprehensive annotated bibliography of books on theory and practice. Useful for material before 1972.
Council of Planning Librarians exchange bibliographies.
A series of 1,565 bibliographies in the fields of planning, landscape architecture, urban design, public administration and social sciences.
Council of Planning Librarians, 1979-1996. Mostly scholarly bibliographies, many annotated. Cumulative indexes published irregularly (numbers 1-207 appears in no. 207, numbers 1-253 in no. 253, numbers 254-327 in no. 328); each bibliography also cataloged separately in the library catalogs.
History of urban and regional planning: an annotated bibliography
Anthony Sutcliffe. Mansell Publishing, 1981. More than 1,400 annotated entries on planning history and 19th-century antecedents, individual planners, aspects of urban and regional planning, planning in individual cities and towns, and planning as a world movement. British emphasis.
Public administration series: bibliography.
Vance Bibliographies, 1978-1991. More than 3,000 bibliographies in broad field of social science and public administration. Useful as "door-openers" to topical subjects. Quality varies. Generally not annotated. Cumulated indexes with author, subject, and title.
Urban America examined: a bibliography
Dale E. Casper. Garland Publishing Inc., 1985.
A selective introduction to the literature of urban studies in America. Chapter prefaces succinctly place some 2,000 citations in context. Annotations and listing of important sources are very useful. Both subject and local research are covered, and are indexed geographically and topically
Urban planning, a guide to information sources
Ernest R. Alexander, Anthony Catanese, and David S. Sawicki. Gale Research Company, 1979. Restricted to comprehensive planning, integrating and coordinating urban activities. Classic titles, emphasizing books