Skip to main content

City and Regional Planning: Basic Research Resources: Other Resources

A selective bibliographic guide to basic city and regional planning reference sources in the Environmental Design Library at UC Berkeley. Although the guide reflects the American emphasis of the collection, international planning is included.

Library Catalogs

Here are print catalogs of special collections of interest to planners; they list material that may not be listed in online library catalogs.

  • Catalog of the Avery Memorial Architectural Library of Columbia University. 2nd ed., enlarged. G.K. Hall, 1968. 1st Suppl. (1968-6/72); 2nd Suppl. (7/72-5/74); 3rd Suppl. (6/74-4/77, Microfilm 21123); 4th Suppl. (5/77-4/79); 5th Suppl. (5/79-12/81).

  • Dictionary catalog of the United States Department of Housing and Urban Development. Library and Information Division. G.K. Hall,1972. 1st Suppl., 1974; 2nd Suppl., 1975. Coverage: 1934-197?. A catalog of one of the richest and most diverse collections of literature on urban affairs and community development. Includes books, pamphlets, slides, and films, as well as local, state, federal and foreign documents. Provides unique access to over 20,000 Comprehensive Planning Reports (Section 701 of the Housing Act of 1954) in vol. 19 of the base set, and vol. 2 in Suppl. 1 and 2.

  • Harvard University Graduate School of Design Library Catalog. G.K. Hall, 1968; Suppl. 1970, 1974, 1979. Coverage: 189?-1978. The library catalog of the oldest program in city planning in the U.S. Particularly complete in areas such as urban design, city and regional planning, state and national planning, housing, zoning and urban renewal. Covers books, periodical articles, and pamphlets.

Special Collections

  • Housing and urban affairs. 1965-1976. Microfilming Corp. of America, 1977. Microfiche full text of 3,000 selected local planning reports, research papers, etc., in the U.S. Dept. of Housing and Urban Affairs Library, 1965-76 (Environ Dsgn Microfiche 855). INDEX: Housing and urban affairs, 1965-1976: A bibliographic guide to the microform collection provides subject, geographic and author title access to the collection

  • 701 Comprehensive Planning Reports. This rich collection of general plans spans the period from 1954 to 1976 when the U.S. Federal Planning Assistance Program of the Housing Act of 1954 (P.L.83-560), Section 701 of Title 7, subsidized the preparation of comprehensive plans and required their distribution to 13 U.S. urban planning depository libraries, including the Environmental Design Library. More than 20,000 reports, issued by state and local agencies, were distributed. INDEXES: Most of these reports are listed in the Library's catalogs. Access is also provided in Dictionary catalog of the United States Department of Housing and Urban Development, Library and Information Division in vol. 19 of the base set, and vol. 2 in Suppl. 1 and 2.

Internet Resources

In addition to URLs cited throughout this guide, the following sites, with varying degrees of comprehensiveness, serve as good gateways to planning resources on the web.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.