Skip to main content

Evolution of Genomes, Cells and Development: MCB 143: Manage Citations & Articles

Selected article indexes, literature reviews, citation evaluation, primary source information

Use a bibliographic management software

Citation or reference management programs help you manage your research, collect and cite sources, create bibliographies in a variety of citation styles, add your own notes and keywords to your citations, save images and pdfs.

Organize Your Searches & Results

Save your search strategies: Nearly all the databases you use to find articles, etc., retain your search history. Literature reviews, like epidemiological research, should be rigorous and reproducible. Save or print your search history to help document your search strategy, which will include:

  • the date of the search(es),
  • search terms used (keywords; title words; MeSHs, thesaurus terms, descriptors),
  • any limits (eg, language, publication dates) that you placed on your search.
  • how many relevant citations you found in each database.

 

Using PubMed's Clipboard and My NCBI can help with both saving your search strategy and the citations you find;
See links in the PubMed section, above.

What are citations

Citations consist of standard elements and contain all the information necessary to identify and track down publications, including:

  • author name(s)
  • titles of books, articles, and journals
  • date of publication
  • page numbers
  • volume and issue numbers (for articles)

Citations may look different, depending on what is being cited and which style was used to create them. Choose the appropriate style guide for your needs.
Example of an article citation using four different citation styles, notice the common elements.

Author - Ackerly, DD (Ackerly, David D.)

Article Title - Carbon assimilation and habitat segregation in resurrection plants

Source Title - FUNCTIONAL ECOLOGY

Volume and issue - Volume 29, issue 12

Published: DEC 2015

Page numbers - 1499-1512

DOI: 10.1111/1365-2435.12462

AMA (American Medical Association):

1.    Alcantara S, de Mello-Silva R, Teodoro GS, Drequeceler K, Ackerly DD, Oliveira RS. Carbon assimilation and habitat segregation in resurrection plants: a comparison between desiccation- and non-desiccation-tolerant species of Neotropical Velloziaceae (Pandanales). Functional Ecology. 2015;29(12):1499-1512.

Bioscience Style:

Alcantara S, de Mello-Silva R, Teodoro GS, Drequeceler K, Ackerly DD, Oliveira RS. 2015. Carbon assimilation and habitat segregation in resurrection plants: a comparison between desiccation- and non-desiccation-tolerant species of Neotropical Velloziaceae (Pandanales). Functional Ecology 29:1499-1512.

CSE, Council of Science Editors:

Alcantara S, de Mello-Silva R, Teodoro GS, Drequeceler K, Ackerly DD, Oliveira RS. Carbon assimilation and habitat segregation in resurrection plants: a comparison between desiccation- and non-desiccation-tolerant species of Neotropical Velloziaceae (Pandanales). Functional Ecology 2015;29(12):1499-1512.

American Psychological Association  (APA) style:
Alcantara, S., de Mello-Silva, R., Teodoro, G. S., Drequeceler, K., Ackerly, D. D., & Oliveira, R. S. (2015). Carbon assimilation and habitat segregation in resurrection plants: a comparison between desiccation- and non-desiccation-tolerant species of Neotropical Velloziaceae (Pandanales). [Article]. Functional Ecology, 29(12), 1499-1512.

Refworks (Proquest)

RefWorks

  • Free to UC Berkeley users
  • Web-based: use at any computer with internet access
  • Format bibliographies in Word
  • Import citations from RSS feeds
  • Use UC-eLinks to find the full text of articles from within RefWorks
  • Share lists of references or create a group account for co-editing

Download Write n Cite for Proquest Refworks
 

1. Open word, type My Test Document.


Use RefWorks with Google Docs Add-on in bDrive.

1. log into bDrive: bdrive.berkeley.edu with your CalNet ID and passphrase.

 

2. Click New, and then Google Docs; you can rename the document if you wish (see upper left, "Untitled Document"

3. in RefWorks, click your log-on name at the upper right, then click TOOLS.

4. Scroll down until see "Cite in Google Docs" and click GET the Add-on.

Reference Managers: allow you to save & manage your research citations

EndNote

 

  • Discount to UC Berkeley users
  • Desktop-based software (plus EndNote Web)
  • Format bibliographies in Word or Open Office
  • Capture citation data from some PDFs
  • Annotate PDFs
  • Use UC-eLinks to find the full text of articles from within EndNote
  • Share lists of references with other EndNote users
  • See our EndNote Support page for tutorials and additional information

Zotero

  • Zotero guide
  • Free (up to 300 MB web storage) browser extension or standalone program
  • Sync Zotero to access your library from any computer with internet access
  • Format bibliographies in Word and OpenOffice
  • Capture citation data from PDFs and web pages
  • Share and collaboratively edit lists of references

Mendeley

  • Free (up to 2 GB web storage) software/web hybrid for PC, Mac, Linux
  • Format bibliographies in Word or Open Office
  • Sync PDFs to your web account for online access
  • Capture citation data from some PDFs
  • Search and annotate PDFs
    Share and collaboratively edit lists of references

Wikipedia comparison of reference management software

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.