Skip to main content

AAS 98/198: Find Articles and More

Searching PubMed

PubMed for UCB: Citations to journal articles on health and medical topics, with links to full text via Getting Started with UC-eLinks

PubMed searching top tips:
  1. Combine terms with AND or OR
  2. Use Filters (eg, Ages, Article types, Languages, etc.)
  3. Search for your term as a word in the title or title or abstract (using Filters, Advanced Search, or Field Tags)
  4. Use MeSH (Medical Subject Headings), with subheadings
  5. Use the Similar articles link, once you find a set of relevant citations
  6. Try PubMed's Clinical Queries or Topic-Specific Queries
  7. Always keep in mind the question you are trying to answer when creating a search strategy and when reviewing the articles you find

» PubMed Tips & Tricks: Basic search guide with link to PubMed exercise set. Start here to learn how to search PubMed more effectively

» Search strategies:

  • Cannabis
    • MeSH: Medical marijuana, Marijuana Smoking, Marijuana Abuse, Cannabis
  • Domestic Work
    • MeSH: Housekeeping
    • Should also keyword "domestic work"
  • Health seeking behaviors
    • MeSH terms: Patient Acceptance of Health Care
    • MeSH terms: Health Behavior, Attitude to Health, Information Seeking Behavior, Help-Seeking Behavior
  • Health Services
    • MeSH terms: Delivery of Health Care, Health Services Needs and Demands, Health Services for the Aged
    • MeSH terms: Health Services Accessibility, Communication Barriers
    • MeSH terms: Patient Acceptance of Health Care, Attitude to Health
    • MeSH terms: Social stigma, Culture, Cultural Competency, Socioeconomic Factors
    • MeSH terms: Community Health Services, Community Health Nursing, Community Health Workers, Community Health Centers
  • Mental Health
    • MeSH terms: Mental Health, Mental Disorders, Mental Health Services
  • Sex Trafficking
    • MeSH: Human Trafficking
    • MeSH: Sex Work, Child Abuse Sexual
  • Specific populations
    • MeSH Population Group terms: Students AND Universities, Student Health Services
    • MeSH Age terms: Middle Aged (45-64), Aged (65+)
    • MeSH Ethnic terms: country - ethnology (e.g., Philippines - ethnology)
    • MeSH Ethnic terms: Asian Americans; Asian Continental Ancestry Group; Oceanic Ancestry Group AND United States
    • MeSH Geographic terms: United States, California - Use if you get too many results

Broad Resources for Finding Journal Articles and More

CINAHL with Full Text
Primary database for nursing and allied health including topics such as addiction, aging, alternative/complementary medicine, biomedicine, mental health, psychology, and more. (1937-current).
» What's not in PubMed?
    Books, standards of care and other gray literature

» Relevant subject headings:

  • Subject Heading: Mental Disorders, Mental Health, Community Mental Health Nursing, Community Mental Health Services, Mental Health Services, Attitude to Mental Illness
  • Subject Heading: Help Seeking Behavior, Help Seeking Behavior, Attitude to Health, Information Seek Behavior, Health Behavior
  • Subject Heading: Health Services Accessibility, Health Resource Utilization, Health Services - Utilization, Health Services Needs and Demand
  • Subject Heading: Communication Barriers, Cultural Competence, Healthcare disparities
  • Subject Heading: Cannabis, Medical Marijuana
  • Subject Heading: Human Trafficking
  • Keyword: "domestic work"
  • Subject Heading: Asians, Filipinos
  • Subject Heading: Middle Aged (45-64), Aged (65+)
  • Subject Heading: United States, California

Embase
Broad biomedical scope. Useful for medicine, genetics, infectious diseases, healthcare policy & management, and more.
» Embase does use a controlled vocabulary. Click Browse then Emtree above the search box to search or browse for terms.
» What's not in PubMed?
    More non-US literature, better coverage of drug/toxicology topics ...

» Relevant subject headings:

  • Emtree terms: Attitude to Mental Illness, Community Mental Health, Community Mental Health Center, Mental Disease, Mental Health, Mental Health Care, Mental Health Service
  • Emtree terms: Health Seeking Behavior, Attitude to Health, Information Seeking Health Behavior
  • Subject Heading: Health Care Delivery, Health Care Need, Health Services Access, Health Care Utilization, Health Services
  • Emtree terms: Cultural Competence, Health Care Disparity, Transcultural Care
  • Emtree terms: Cannabis, Cannabis Addiction, Cannabis Use, Medical Cannabis
  • Emtree terms: Sex Trafficking - Only since 2013
  • Keyword: "Domestic Work", "Domestic Worker", "Child Domestic Worker"
  • Emtree terms: Asian American, Pacific Islander
  • Emtree terms: Middle Aged (45-64), Aged (65+), Age Specific Care, Elderly Care
  • Emtree terms: United States, California

Global Health
Citations in environmental and occupational health, food safety and hygiene, infectious diseases, medical microbiology, nutrition, public health, toxicology, zoonoses, and more. More international coverage than PubMed.
» Global Health does use a controlled vocabulary. Use the Topic drop-down menu and select Descriptors then click Select from Thesaurus.
» What's not in PubMed?
    Search by (relatively narrow) geographic settings, or country in which work published.

» Global Health Help

Google Scholar
Citations in all topics.
» Google Scholar does not use a controlled vocabulary. Use Advanced Search by clicking the ▼ in the search box, then search for title words.
» What's not in PubMed?
    Broad topical scope. Be aware that Google Scholar lacks:
    » the ability to use iteration in developing search strategies,
    » any indexing,
    » bulk downloading or saving of records,
    » a complete description of its contents.

Scopus
Large, multidisciplinary database of citations to articles, conference papers, patents, and more.
» Scopus does not use a controlled vocabulary. Scopus uses author and other keywords.
» Subject terms/features not found in PubMed:
    Excellent resource for cited reference searching; Journal Analyzer tool assesses journal performance.

» Scopus search tips

Web of Science
Large, multidisciplinary database; links to cited articles and times cited are provided for retrieved articles.
» Web of Science does not use a controlled vocabulary; it uses author keywords and keywords assigned algorithmically.
» What's not in PubMed?
    Scope of database is broad; excellent for searching interdisciplinary topics and cited reference searching.

Subject-Specific Resources for Finding Journal Articles and More

Education Source
Collection of full-text education research including periodicals, books, yearbooks, and more.
» What's not in PubMed?
    Purely educational information; non-journal literature

» Relevant subject headings:

  • Thesaurus terms: Mental Health, Mental Illness, Mental Health Services
  • Keyword: Cannabis, Marijuana
  • Thesaurus terms: College students, Asian American college students

ERIC
Access to educational literature, including school health, health promotion, and other public health topics. ERIC sources include journals, books, conferences and meetings, reports, theses/dissertations, and audiovisual media. ERIC also includes materials on tests, measurement, and evaluation.
» ERIC does use a controlled vocabulary. Click Thesaurus above the search box to search or browse for terms.
» What's not in PubMed?
    Purely educational information; non-journal literature; can focus a search by education level or audience ...

» Relevant subject headings:

  • Thesaurus terms: Mental Health, Mental Disorders
  • Thesaurus terms: Marijuana
  • Thesaurus terms: Asian Americans, Asian American students, Asian Americans, Chinese Americans, Filipino Americans, Japanese Americans, Korean Americans, Pacific Americans

PsycINFO
Citations in psychology, behavior, and related disciplines.
» PsycINFOdoes use a controlled vocabulary. Click Thesaurus to search or browse terms.
» What's not in PubMed?
    Economic security, community attitudes, dissertations/thesis ...

» PsycINFO Quick Guide (PDF)

  • Thesaurus terms: Mental Disorders, Community Mental Health, Community Mental Health Centers, Community Mental Health Services, Mental Health, Mental Health Care Barriers
  • Thesaurus terms: Health Service Needs, Health Service Utilization, Health Status Disparities
  • Thesaurus terms: Health Care Seeking Behavior, Health Behavior, Information Seeking, Sociocultural Factors,
  • Thesaurus terms: Cannabis, Marijuana, Marijuana Usage
  • Thesaurus terms: Human Trafficking
  • Thesaurus terms: Domestic Service Personnel
  • Thesaurus terms: Asians, Pacific Islanders

Sociological Abstracts
Citations in demography, social psychology, and sociology. 
» Sociological Abstracts does use a controlled vocabulary. Click Thesaurus to search or browse terms.
» What's not in PubMed?
    Cultural capital, peer relations, victim
ization, family structure, strategies, neighborhoods, social constructionism, ...
» Sociological Abstracts Guide

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.