Art Information: Research Methods and Resources by 
Fine arts : a bibliographic guide to basic reference works, histories, and handbooks by
Intended as a guide to basic books in art history for general readers and beginning to advanced students, this annotated bibliography identifies works published between 1958 and 1973
Guide to the Literature of Art History (1&2) by
Comprehensive listing of research resources for a number of subjects, including sales and auctions, iconongraphy, historiography, methodology, theory, works in all major media, decorative arts, patronage, collection, and more.
Artists from Latin American Cultures: a biographical dictionary by
Latin Americans have long been relegated to the cultural background, obscured by the dominant European culture. This biographical dictionary profiles 75 artists from the United States and 13 nations of Central and South America and the Caribbean, including painters, sculptors, photographers, muralists, printmakers, installation artists, and performance artists. Some of their works recall pre-Columbian times; others confront the cultural imperialism of the U.S. over Latin America; and many explore how the dominant elements of culture can affect identities of class, gender, and sexuality. Profiled artists range from the renowned to the little-known: Frida Kahlo; Tina Modotti; Diego Rivera; Myrna Baez; Raquel Forner; Patrocino Barela; and many more. Color photographs are provided for many of the works. Each entry includes information about the artist's childhood, schooling, creative growth, and artistic styles and themes. Exemplary artworks and influences are described, along with a look at popular and critical responses. Supplemental features include artist cross references, a glossary of essential terms from the art world, and a number of vivid photos portraying the artists in their creative environments.
The Artists of Poland by
This is a comprehensive biographical dictionary of Polish artists from the fourteenth century to the present day. Nearly 1,300 men and women who have made lasting contributions in the fields of painting, illustration, sculpture, stage design, architecture, tapestry, etching, and other media are listed alphabetically. Included are those native to Poland, those of Polish descent, and those born elsewhere who produced their art in Poland. Each entry provides the artist's name, biographical information, medium employed, and overall contribution to Poland's artistic tradition. Photographs accompany many entries.
A Dictionary of Art Titles by
This dictionary of 3,000 works of art explains the meaning behind the titles of works of art. The titles, mostly of paintings and sculpture, but also of some less traditional media, are arranged alphabetically by original title or English title (with post-18th century French, German, Italian, Spanish, and Russian works usually given in their own language, and occasionally other works as well); each entry provides an English title when necessary, the artist's name, when known, the date of creation, the present location unless a work is not extant, and an explanation of the title. A bibliography and an index of artists are included.
Dictionary of Indian Art and Artists by
From Ajanta to Yantra, with over 1300 entries on painting, drawing, prints sculpture, galleries and institutions, including more than 300 colour illustrations, Dictionary of Indian Art & Artists presents a comprehensive picture of the world of art in India. The first book to focus exclusively on the evolution and context of Indian art, it provides a roadmap for the artist, student, art-professional and art-lover to discover or gain advance knowledge on movements, monuments and institutions that represent the creative force of Indian art. Utilising extensive cross referencing, links are made between artists, concepts, techniques and various schools of art.
Dictionary of Texas Artists, 1800-1945 by
The first comprehensive listing of Texas artists in more than sixty years, the Dictionary of Texas Artists, 1800#150;1945 highlights more than 2,500 artists who have lived, worked, and exhibited in Texas. Drawing on archival documents, press releases, periodicals, and exhibition brochures in all known collections and archives, Paula L. and Michael R. Grauer provide as much information possible on the artists' birth and death dates and place, primary city of residence, art education, professional credentials, and exhibition record. Following the alphabetical list of artists, tables for each of the major exhibitions and competitions in Texas in the late nineteenth and first half of the twentieth centuries cross-reference the artists who participated in those exhibitions. More than one hundred-fifty color illustrations supplement the entries, showing Texas artists at their best. Using pre-1945 exhibition records as the criterion for inclusion, the compilers received assistance from leading scholars in the field as well as collectors, Texas artists' descendants, and, in some cases, the artists themselves. Given the developing interest in Texas art and artists among collectors and museums, the Dictionary of Texas Artists, 1800#150;1945 will be invaluable to art historians, collectors, curators, and scholars and will enhance the national appreciation for the achievements and contributions of Texas artists in American art.
Encyclopedia of Comparative Iconography by
Compares the uses of iconographic themes from mythology, the Bible and other sacred texts, literature and popular culture in works of art through various periods, cultures and genres.
The Encyclopedia of Sculpture by
With an international scope, this fully illustrated reference spans the entire history of sculpture, from prehistoric times to the twenty-first century.
Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Photography by
The Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Photography explores the vast international scope of twentieth-century photography and explains that history with a wide-ranging, interdisciplinary manner.
Latin American and Caribbean Artists of the Modern Era by
This is a comprehensive reference book to more than 12,700 painters, sculptors, graphic artists and architects in Latin America (Mexico, Central America, South America) and the Caribbean region active during the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. Entries include the artists' years, countries and bibliographies. Also included are brief biographical information, stylistic notes, a record of each artist's exhibitions and a list of collections where his or her works can be seen. There are 89 photographs of selected works that supplement the entries. The introduction includes brief informative background essays on the individual countries and their artists.
Modern Chinese Artists: a biographical dictionary by
The first biographical dictionary of its kind in any Western language, this pioneering work provides short, information-packed entries for approximately 1,800 Chinese artists of the twentieth and twenty-first centuries. In recent years interest in modern Chinese art has spread across the globe. Public and private collections are being formed; courses in modern Chinese art are offered in many universities and museums. At the same time, the number of practicing artists in China and the amount of published material have greatly increased. Michael Sullivan's pathbreaking book Art and Artists of Twentieth-Century China, published in 1996, included a biographical index of some eight hundred artists. This volume includes more than twice that number, with entries that have been revised, expanded, and brought up to date. Illustrated with portraits and photographs of more than seventy leading artists, this comprehensive, convenient reference will be an essential tool for anyone interested in the study or collection of modern Chinese art.
The Yale Dictionary of Art and Artists by
This reference work deals with all aspects of Western art from 1300 to the present day. It provides information on painters, sculptors, and graphic artists, technical processes, terminology, theory, schools, movements, patrons and collecting, and much more.
