Library Guides: Russian America @ UC Berkeley.: Home

Primary Sources of Russian California at UC Berkeley

Biographical sketches of authors on Russian America and Alaska / Henry W. Elliott ; transcription and bibliography by John W. Carnahan
Colonial Russian America : Kyrill T. Khlebnikov's reports, 1817-1832 / translated, with an introd. and notes by Basil Dmytryshyn and E. A. P. Crownhart-Vaughan.
Letters about the Islands of the Ounalashka District : Saint Petersburg, 1840. Typescript transcription, made by Margaret Lantis in 1934, of parts I-II of v. 4 of Russian America, containing excerpts translated by Ivan Petroff from the Russian work: Zapiski ob ostravakh Unalashkinskago otdila.
Notes on Russian America / by Kiril Timofeevich Khlebnikov ; translated by Marina Ramsay ; edited by Richard Pierce.
Russian America : a biographical dictionary / by Richard A. Pierce.
Russkai︠a︡ Amerika = Russian America. A newspaper written in Russian with some English

Maps of Russian California

Colton's map of the territory of Alaska : (Russian America) ceded by Russia to the United States. / G.W. & C.B. Colton & Co. Cover title: Colton's map of Alaska. Relief shown by hachures and spot heights. Depths shown by soundings. Includes two insets.
From a Russian chart of 1861 : [Russian America, British America] / Drawn by Frank L. Pope.
Map of Russian America or Alaska Territory compiled from Russian charts ...
The mapping of Russian America : a history of Russian-American contacts in cartography / Alexei V. Postnikov.
Russian settlements : [Northern California]. Relief shown pictorially. Covers primarily Sonoma, Napa, and Marin Counties.

Russian America

Photos of Russian America (Fort Ross)

Alaskan views [graphic] Photographs show the Yukon river, Sitka (including the Greek [Russian] church), an Indian dance house, a ship loading at a dock, Taku Glacier, and other scenes.

Fort Ross, California

Archives and Books on Russian America (in Russian)

Russian America: documents, journals, travel notes

Photos of Russian America (Alaska)

Source: UC Riverside-https://oac.cdlib.org/ark:/13030/kt2t1nc0k7/?order=2&brand=oac4

Mt. Juneau Gold Mining District (19th century)

Alaska, Gold mining

Alaska today

Books on Russian America (in English)

"Russian California, 1805-1841," by E.T.H. Bunje, H. Penn, and F.J. Schmitz. California Cultural Research, sponsored by the University of California, Berkeley. Written under the auspices of the Works Progress Administration ...
The annexation of Russian America to the United States [electronic resource], by Victor J. Farrar.
The architecture and settlements of Russian America / by Anatole Senkevitch, Jr.
California through Russian eyes, 1806-1848 / compiled, translated, and edited by James R. Gibson ; with the assistance of Alexei A. Istomin.
Clothing in colonial Russian America : a new look / by John Middleton ; edited by Lyn Kalani.
The destiny of Russian America, 1741-1867 / by A.I. Alekseev ; translated by Marina Ramsay ; edited by R.A. Pierce.
Economic foundations of Russian America / Winston Sarafian.
The end of Russian America : Captain P. N. Golovin's last report, 1862 / translated with introd. and notes by Basil Dmytryshyn and E. A. P. Crownhart-Vaughan
Ethnic processes in Russian America / Svetlana G. Fedorova ; translated by Antoinette Shalkop
Exploring and mapping Alaska : the Russian America era, 1741-1867 Postnikov, A. V. (Alekseĭ Vladimirovich); Falk, Marvin W., 1943- editor.
Fort Ross and the Sonoma coast / Lyn Kalani and Sarah Sweedler.
From the Baltic to Russian America, 1829-1836 : the journey of Elisabeth Von Wrangell / by Alix O'Grady ; edited by R.A. Pierce.
Little journeys into the history of Russian America and the purchase of Alaska / compiled by Archie W. Shiels. Introduction -- Foreword: Alaska's Lief Erickson -- [Peter the Great orders the expedition] -- The discovery -- Early voyages of the Russian hunters, and, The voyages of the foreign traders and explorers -- [Gregor Shelikof and the Russian American Company] -- Baranof the builder -- History of the Russian Church in Alaska -- Veniaminov -- Captain Urey Lisiansky -- Count Nikolai Rezanof -- Russians in California -- Fort Ross -- The story of Sitka -- The purchase of Alaska [including the text of the Treaty].
Russian-America : the forgotten frontier / edited by Barbara Sweetland Smith and Redmond J. Barnett.
Russian America : an overseas colony of a continental empire, 1804-1867 / Ilya Vinkovetsky. The paradox of overseas colonialism for a continental empire -- pt. 1. Building a colonial system -- From Siberia's frontier to Russia's colony -- Contractor of empire -- Indigenous labor and colonial insecurities -- pt. 2. Making Natives Russian -- Colonial trade and co-optation in a Russian key -- Dependence, family, and Russianization -- Building a colonial diocese -- Conclusion: The meaning of 1867.
Russian America : the forgotten frontier : an exhibition on the time when American history was Russian and Russian history was American, July 17 through October 21, 1990.
Russian America : the forgotten frontier : Symposium sponsored by the Anchorage Museum of History and /Art / Robert D. Craig, editor.
Russian America; the great Alaskan venture, 1741-1867
Russian America and international relations from the 18th to the first half of the 19th centuries / N.N. Bolkhovitinov.
Russian America [electronic resource] [by G.E. Pond].
Russian California, 1805-1841, by Emil Theodore Hieronymus Bunje, H. Penn, and Frederick Josef Schmitz.
Russian California, 1806-1860 : a history in documents / compiled and edited by James R. Gibson and Alexei A. Istomin with the assistance of Valery A. Tishkov ; translated by James R. Gibson.
Russian dependence upon the natives of Russian America / James R. Gibson.
So far from home : Russians in early California / edited by Glenn J. Farris.
Travel and adventure in the territory of Alaska, formerly Russian America--now ceded to the United States--and in various other parts of the North Pacific [electronic resource] by Frederick Whymper.
Two voyages to Russian America, 1802-1807 / by G. I. Davydov ; translated by Colin Bearne ; edited by Richard A. Pierce.
The United States, Russia, and Russian-America / Howard I. Kushner

Archives on Russian America

A historian of California and Russian America, Professor Paul P. Gronsky (1883-1937) ...
Key to contents and arrangement of Russian America (P-K 1-7) [microform] : a collection of Russian publications made by Ivan Petroff for H.H. Bancroft's use in preparing the History of Alaska.
Native Americans and the Russian empire, 1804-1867 [electronic resource] / by Ilya Vinkovetsky. In a broader sense, this dissertation presents a case study in the practice of Russian colonialism. More strictly defined, it is about how the Russians attempted to change the cultures of indigenous peoples of their colony in North America (encompassing the Aleutian Islands, Alaska, and California) in order to make them conform to the image of loyal subjects of the Russian Empire. To analyze this process, I divide the initiatives of the Russians intended to influence the Native Americans into three broad categories: pacification, christianization, and russianization. These categories are heuristic devices that help illuminate the connections between, on the one hand, imposed and mediated cultural change and, on the other, such features as Russian America's peculiar labor structure in particular and the imperatives of the fur trade in general.
List of accounts of voyages, chiefly to North America, in various Russian publications, compiled by Philip Wagner.
Count Nikolai Rumiantsev and Russian exploration of Alaska and North America : typescript, 1991.
A story of the first American exploring expedition to Russian America ... 1865-1867 : typescript. Typed transcript of an account of his experiences as a member of the Western Union Telegraph Company's expedition for the Russian Extension, under the command of Col. Charles S. Bulkley and Maj. Robert Kennicott. With this is filmed an account of his trading venture to Alaska, 1868, titled: Pioneer fur sealing in Alaska (52 p. typescript)
Russian America. Various Russian publications and materials made ca. 1865-1876 by Ivan Petroff or Martin Klinkofstrom for Hubert Howe Bancroft concerning Russian activity on the Pacific Coast of North America. Each volume has been cataloged separately and contains a table of contents. An extensive collection key has been prepared under separate call number by Wendell H. Oswalt (BANC MSS P-K 232).
Russian America. v. III Reports and letters, translated by Ivan Petrov, of various individuals including G.I. Davidov, Andrei Lazarev, and F.P. Lütke, concerning the Russian settlement of North America. Contains translated extracts from the Russian work Materialui dlia istoriy Russkikh zasseleniy po beregam vostotchnavo okeana, published in St. Petersberg in 1861. Includes letter of Captain Golovnin on the condition of the Russian American Company in the year 1818; review of the Russian colonies in North America (originally published in Morskoi sbornik, 1861) by Golovin; letters of K. Khlebnikoff about America; extracts from the description of a voyage around the world by Captain Golovin of the sloop Kamtchatka, 1817-1819; extracts from the description of a voyage around the world by Captain A. Lazareff on the sloop Ladoga, 1822-1824; extracts from the writings of Captain Lütke during his journey on the sloop Seniavin, 1826-1829; and a list of private vessels returned from the American coast from 1745-1803.
Russian America. v. IV Part of a collection of translations, made by Ivan Petroff and others, of books and documents relating to Russian activities in North America during the late 18th and early 19th centuries. Pt. 1-2 : I. Veniaminov (Saint Innokenti), Zapiski ob ostrovakh Ounalashkinskavo otdala sostavlenniia I. Veniaminoviim, chast I, II, III (Letters about the islands of the Ounalashka district compiled by I. Veniaminoff, parts I-III), St. Petersburg, 1840. Pt. 3 : Sobranie sotchenenie (Literary collections), parts IV and V, St. Petersburg, 1790, published by the Imperial Academy of Sciences. Includes accounts of voyages, including extract from the journals of the ship St. Michael during its voyage among the islands situated between Asia and America. Pt. 4 : Kiryll Khlebnikov, Biography of Alexander Andreievitch Baranov, Governor General of the Russian colonies in America, St. Petersburg, Navy Printing Office, 1835. Pt. 5 and 8 : Second charter of the Russian American Company, 1844. Pt. 6 : G. Shelekhov, Voyages of G. Shelekhov from the year 1783 to 1790, from Okhotsk, through the Eastern Ocean to the American coast, and his return to Russia..., St. Petersburg, 1812, Government Printing Office. Pt. 7 : Sobranie Sotchinenie (Literary collections), pt. IV, St. Petersburg, 1790. Russian discoveries in the sea between Asia and America. Pt. 9 : Kostlivtsov, Tabular statement of the present condition of the Russian American colonies, 1860, by Actual State Councillor Kostlivtzoff. Pt. 10 : Appendix to Kostlivtsov's report. Pt. 11 : Historical review of the Russian American Company from 1799 to 1863. Compiled by the Department of Imperial Domains.
Russian America. v. V Translations of Russian works either by Petroff, or by Martin Klinkofstrom if noted, concerning Russian activity on the Pacific coast of North America. Dmitry Zavalishin, the affairs of the Ross Colony, Moskva: Universitetskor, Typographiy (Katkoff + Co.), 1866 (74 unnumbered half pages.), translated by Klinkofstrom. Ross Colony material translated by Klinkofstrom from Pinart copies. Consult table of contents within volume for additional information. List of Transactions of the Russian - American Company, 1781-1825, from documents preserved in the company's archives (15 p.). Zagoskin, Exploration on Foot of Parts of the Russian Possessions in America in the years 1842, and 1844, Parts I and II, Saint Petersburg, 1847 (210 p.). Translated excerpts from the Russian work: Peshekhodna i a opis chasti Russhikh vladenii v Amerike. Ivan Ogorodnikoff, from New York to San Francisco. Translated from the Russian Work: ot Niu Yorka do San Francisco.
Russian America. v. I Typescript (pasted into vol.) : Omissions in Ivan Petroff's translation of Tikhemenev's Historical Review of the original of The Russian - American Company and other writings (3 p.). Part of a collection of translations, by Ivan Petroff and others, of books and documents relating to Russian activities in Amercia during the late 18th and early 19th centuries. Pt. 1-2 : P. Tikhmenev, Istoritcheskoe obosranie obrazovanie Rossiysko-Amerikanskoi Kompaniy i deistvia eya do nastoyashtchavo vremeny (Historical review of the origin of the Russian American Company and its doings up to the present time), St. Petersburg, Printing Office of Edward Weimar, 1861 (Part I), 1863 (Part II). Pt. 3 : Kratkoe istoritcheskoe obozrene obrazovane i deistuii Rossiisko-Amerikanskoi Companii s samago nachafa uchrezhdenia onoi, i do nastoiachchago vermeni (Short historical review of the establishment and operations of the Russian American Company from its first beginning down to the present time), Lithographed at St. Petersburg, 1861 (by Lt. Gen. Politovsky, presiding member of the General Administration of the Russian American Company). (A Russian version of this work can be found in BANC MSS P-K 50).
Russian America. v. II Pt. 1 : P.A. Tikhmenev, Historical review of the organization of the Russian - American Company and its doings up to the present time, Part II (continued from page 335 of the original in Russian). Edward Weimar, Saint Petersburg, 1863 (632 p.). Continued from BANC MSS P-K 1. This being translated excerpts from the Russian work: Istoricheskoe obozrienie obrazovaniia Rossiĭsko - Amerikanskor Kompanii i dieistvii eia do nastoiashchago vremeni, Chast II. Pt. 2 : Vassili Petrovitch Tarakanoff, Statement of Vassili Petrovitch Tarakanoff as told to Ivan Shishkin (42 p.), originally published in Morskoi Sbornik, November, 1852, pages 345-375. It has been published in book form in a 200 copy edition under the title: Statement of my captivity among the Californians (Los Angeles: Glen Dawson, 1953), and a copy is available at the Bancroft Library (F864. T274). Pt. 3 : Official list of vessels which sailed around the world to and from the Russian - American colonies between the years 1849 and 1852 (3 p. ), originally published in Morskoi Sbornik, November, 1852, pages 416-417.
Russian America. v. VI Pt. 1 : Report of the Committee on Organization of The Russian American Colonies, Part I, Printing office of The Department of Foreign Commerce: Saint Petersburg, 1863 (542 P.). Translated excerpts from the Russian work: Doklad komiteta ob Oustroistva Russkikh Amerikanskikh Koloniy, Chast I. Pt. 2 : Report of The Committee on Organization of The Russian American Colonies, Part II, Saint Petersburg, 1864 (348 p.). Translated excerpts from The Russian work: Kocklad Komiiteta ob Oustroistva Russkikh Amerikanskikh Koloniy, Chast II. Pt. 3 : Extracts from Articles published in The monthly Dissertations and Marine Collecton between the years 1758 and 1852 (52 p.). See table of contents within volume for additional information. Translated excerpts from The Russian works: Yesshemiasiatchnaia Sockinenie and Mosskoi Sbornik.
Russian America. v. VII Part of a collection of documents and books, translated in manuscript by Ivan Petroff and others, relating to Russian activities in North America during the late 18th and early 19th centuries. Pt. 1 : Aleksandr Markov, Russkie na Vostotchnom Okeana... (The Russians in the Eastern Ocean...), St. Petersburg, 1856, 2nd edition. Pt. 2 : Vasilii Berkh, Khronologicheskaia istoria otkruitia Aleutskikh... (Chronological history of the discovery of the Aleutian Islands...), St. Petersburg, 1823, printed by Gretch. Pt. 3 : Gavriil Davydov, Dvukratnoe puteshestvie v Ameriku morskiskh offitzerov Khvostova i Davydova... (Two voyages to America by the naval officers Khvostov and Davydov...), St. Petersburg, 1810, Naval Printing Office.
Little known bibliographic and archival materials on Russian America / Richard A. Pierce.
A view of Russian America, in connection with the present war. By A.R. Roche ...
A view of Russian America in connection with the present war [electronic resource] by A.R. Roche.

Flag of Russian American Company

Subject Guide

Liladhar R. Pendse

Contact:

510-768-7610
lpendse (at) library (dot) berkeley (dot) edu

Subjects: Latin American Studies, Slavic and Eastern European Studies

Russian America and Fort Ross

For Fair Academic Use Only!

Fort Ross Documentary