Skip to main content

NES 18, Egyptology: Library Logistics

Ask a Librarian 24/7 Chat

Have research questions? Get real time advice from a research librarian day or night.

Annotated Bibliography

An annotated bibliography lists important works you will use in your research: articles, books, chapter, reports, etc.

Your annotations are not just summaries, but are meant to inform the reader why each work is significant, how it relates to other works on the subject, and how well it succeeds in its task.

Here are a couple of online guides to preparing an annotated bibliography.

Citing your sources

Our guide to Citing Your Sources tells how to establish your paper's credibility and avoid plagiarism, and provides links to detailed examples of MLA and other citation formats.

Citation management software

Citation management tools help you manage your research, collect and cite sources, and create bibliographies in a variety of citation styles.  Each one has its strengths and weaknesses, but any are easier than doing it by hand!

Zotero: Free program that works in your browser to keeps copies of pdfs and other research materials you find on the web: permits tagging, notation, full text searching of your library of resources, works with Word, and has a free cloud backup service.  Formats your bibliography and footnotes in many style sheets.

RefWorks - free for UC Berkeley users. It allows you to create your own database by importing references from article databases and formatting footnotes and bibliographies. Use the RefWorks New User Form to sign up.

It's always good to double check the formatting -- sometimes the software doesn't get it quite right.

Using APA 6th? Purdue has produced this very handy quick guide. The fulltext of APA 6th is not available online, but we do have print copies in the EdPsych Library in reference and short term reserve at BF76.7 P83 2010

Your Research Consultant

Mohamed Hamed's picture
Mohamed Hamed
Contact:
Address: 438 Doe Library
Phone:510-664-9822
Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.