Skip to main content

Dissertations in Art History : A Guide: Foreign Dissertations

Foreign Dissertations

Catalogue des thèses de doctorat soutenues devant les universités françaises.  Paris: Cercle de la librairies, 1884-1978.  Z5055.F78 NRLF.  Covers earlier dissertations, superseded by Catalogue des thèses reproduites.

Catalogue des thèses reproduites.  Lille, France: Atelier national de reproduction des thèses de Lille, 1990-2001. Z5055.F8.L58 NRLF.  2001 at Doe Reference.  A list of dissertations published at French universities from 1988 to 2001.  Art history-related topics can be found by subject under the heading 09 “Histoire de l’art and archeologie.”  Includes dissertations submitted within the previous year.  Includes author index.

The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) website contains a separate Foreign Doctoral Dissertations database. CRL acquires about 5,000 non-US, non-Canadian doctoral dissertations a year to add to its 800,000+ collection of dissertations. Acquisitions are primarily through thedemand purchase program

Deutsche Nationalbibliographie und Bibliographie der im Ausland erschienenen deutschsprachigen Veröffentlichungen. Frankfurt am Main: Buchhandler-Vereinigung, 1992. Z2221.F682 Gardner Stacks/NRLF. Library has 1986-2000.   German dissertations.

EThOs: e-theses online service, British Library. Search over 380,000 doctoral theses. Download instantly for your research, or order a scanned copy.

Index to theses with abstracts accepted for higher degrees by the universities of Great Britain and Ireland and the Council.  London: Aslib. (1950-present) 
Z5055.G69.I6 Main Stacks.  Current volume shelved in Doe Reference Room. 
Organized by subject headings covering all disciplines (A—Arts & Humanities).  Also contains separate author index.

Jahresverzeichnis der an den deutschen Universitäten erschienenen Schriften. Covers 1885-1987. Z5055.G39.J3 NRLF. This source (with various titles all located under the same call number) covers dissertations published by German institutions to 1987.  Arranged by city and then university with subject and author indexes. 

Retrospective index to theses of Great Britain and Ireland, 1716-1950.  Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-Clio, 1975. 5 vols. Z5055.G69.B5 NRLF.  Volume 1 covers “Social Sciences and Humanities” dissertations published prior to 1950.  

RESEARH IN PROGRESS

Art Bulletin.  (New York: College Art Association), 1913-present. N11.C4 AH/C Library.
Until 2007, the June issue provided two lists “Dissertations in Progress” and “Dissertations Completed” covering U.S. and Canadian schools.  Superseded by an online version (2008-present) via CAA Reviews http://www.caareviews.org/dissertations

Journal of the Archives of American Art.  (Washington: Archives of American Art, Smithsonian), 1960-present.  N11.D5.J6 Gardner Stacks. Vol. 1 issues from 1989, 1992, 1993, 1997, 2001, 2003 include a section called “Graduate Research Projects in American Art.”  Includes lists of masters and doctoral dissertations on American art, completed or in progress.  Divided into two lists (theses and dissertations) arranged alphabetically by University and then by author’s last name.  

Kunstchronik. (Nürnberg: H. Carl), 1948-present. N3.K84, AH/C Library, 308 
Provides (yearly) lists of newly begun and completed dissertations and theses.  The August issue is devoted to dissertations published in German institutions and the Sept/Oct issue includes other countries including North America.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.