Skip to main content
Other Online Resources
Offers open access to a suite of features including an online library collection; a resource for opinion and analysis; an experts directory; an international events calendar; and a mobile technology component.
Africa South of the Sahara: Selected Internet Resources
The African collections at the Stanford University Libraries encompass publications, audio-visual materials, archives, manuscripts and electronic resources about and from Sub-Saharan Africa. It is one of the finest African studies collections in the world.
Africa Through a Lens
Explore incredible photographs spanning over 100 years of African history, from the 1860s onwards, taken from the Foreign and Commonwealth Office photographic collection
Ross Archive of African Images
Presenting approximately 5000 pictures of African art published before 1921. Its historic sources afford exceptional insight into early European and American views - literal and figurative - of Africa's art. Texts are presented here verbatim in the original - often erroneous and sometimes racist - language. Foreign texts appear in English translation followed by the original language.
South African Society of Artists
Since it’s inception in 1902, the South African Society of Artists has had an enormous influence on local art development and appreciation. Includes a gallery, blogs and essays.
Museums and Online Collections
Art Institute of Chicago African Collection
The Art Institute’s African collection includes over 400 works that highlight the diversity of tradition-based arts on the continent, with emphasis on the sculptural traditions of West and Central Africa. Included are masks and figural sculpture, beadwork, furniture, regalia, and textiles from countries including Burkina Faso, Côte d’Ivoire, Democratic Republic of Congo, Ghana, Ethiopia, Mali, Morocco, Nigeria, and South Africa. The Art Institute’s collection of over 80 African ceramics is the largest in an American art museum.
DeYoung African Art Collection
Today the de Young presents an impressive permanent gallery of African art exhibiting over 180 objects that emphasize the richness and diversity of art throughout the African continent, with sculptural primacy and arranged thematically.
National Museum of African Art
The online exhibitions and collections of the Smithsonian.
Yale University Gallery of African Art
The African art collection comprises nearly 2,000 objects, representing 3,000 years of African history, with masks, figures, utilitarian objects, jewelry, ceramics, and textiles from throughout the continent. Highlights include ritual figures and masks from West and Central Africa, and terracotta antiquities from the Sahel area.