Skip to main content

International Government Data & Statistics: Economics

International Macroeconomic

African Development Indicators. From the World Bank. Detailed data on Africa covering 53 African countries from 1961 to present. 

Asian Development Bank Statistical Database System. Statistical Data from the Asian Development Bank,

Banks' Cross-National Time-Series.  A single longitudinal nation-level data series spanning 200 years and over 200 countries covering a variety of demographic, social, political, and economic topics. 

China Data Online. Monthly and annual macroeconomic statistics, city and county data, industrial sector data, and census updates for China. 

Data Planet. Provides access to data points from licensed and public domain datasets from local, state and international governments and organizations.

Eurostat. Publications and statistics from the EU, with data in economics, population, agriculture, trade, transportation, the envornment and much more.

Indiastat. Statistical data from Indian government and private sources: finance, agriculture, health, housing, transportation, and many other areas.  Note: userid and password required. Please inquire at any Library Reference Desk for assistance.

International Financial Statistics (IFS). From the International Monetary Fund (IMF). Includes data on exchange and interest rates, balance of payments, government finance, national accounts, prices, foreign reserves, and more. 

League of Nations Statistical Yearbooks. From Northwestern University. Digital League of Nations statistical yearbooks from 1926-1944.  Includes data on population, commerce, public finance, currency, production, prices and more. 

Maddison Project Database.  Project from a group of colleagues of Angus Maddison to continue his work on measuring long-term economic performance for different regions, times and topics.  Maddison's original dataset remains on the Maddison Homepage.

Official Statistics on the Web. Access to social, economic and general data from official government sources.  Includes statistical offices, central banks and government agencies. Features a good subject list.

OECD iLibrary. Data from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD). Includes data on economics and finance, trade, telecommunications, development, foreign aid, migration, and other categories.

Penn World Tables.  Database with information on relative levels of income, output, inputs and productivity (TFP) with country and period coverage. Includes several releases of the data set and documentation

Statistics Canada. Time series data for the Canadian economy and its people: national accounts, prices, trade, demographics, historical census data, elections, agricultural, education, energy, and more. 

UN Data. From the United Nations. Wide range of economic, social, cultural, and demographic indicators: population, environment, health, economics, technology, trade, refugees, and more.

World Bank Data Catalog. Catalog of  international economic, financial, and socio-economic data from the World Bank. Among the many datasets offered is World Development Indicators with time series from 1960 for 207 countries with hundreds of variables.

Labor

Foreign Labor Statistics. Labour statistics derived from the foreign countries, the International Labour Office (ILO), Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD), and the EU. From the US Bureau of Labor Statistics.

ILOSTAT. International labor statistics from 1979 to the present on employment, earnings, wages, migration, strikes and more, from the International Labour Organization.

Occupational Wages Around the World (OWW). Wages data derived by the NBER from the ILO Laborsta database. Data requires advanced statistical application software.

Finance & Debt

Bank for International Settlements

International Monetary Fund

World Bank

Trade

Agricultural Market Access Database (AMAD). Cooperative effort from the FAO, World Bank, EU, OECD and other international organizations. Registration required.

Center for International Data (UC Davis). Includes U.S. Import and export data from 1974 to 2001, US Tarriff data and NBER-United Nations Trade Data, 1962-2000 and other variables.

UN COMTRADE.  Detailed commodity trade data between countries from 1962. This is the world's largest depository of international trade data containing over 1.7 billion data records for 45 years. 

Direction of Trade Statistics. From the IMF. Annual, quarterly, and monthly data on the value of exports and imports by trade partners for 250 countries, as well as area and world aggregates, from 1980 to present.

EU External Trade Data.Commodity trade data from the European Union. Tracks the value and quantity of goods traded between EU Member States and between Member States.

ITIP Services.  Databases that provide information on member  commitments under the WTO's General Agreement on Trade in Services (GATS), services commitments in regional trade agreements (RTA).  See the statistics section for Trade in Services.

OECDiLibrary. Statistics section includes access to monthly statistics of international trade aggregates and detailed international trade statistics by commodity.

Time Series on International Trade. Database on international trade in merchandise and commercial services from the WTO

United Nations Service Trade.  Resident to non-resident trade in services broken down by EBOPS category and partner country annually.  Free registration is required.

WTO Tariff Data. Database of tariffs at a high level of detail and ability to analyze online;  and another for standard statistics in less detail but with the ability to compare countries.

World Integrated Trade Solutions (WITS). Statistics on trade in merchandise and commercial services at the world and regional level. Register for use with your Berkeley email address. 

Industries

UNIDO Statistics Data Portal.  International statistical data on industries and mining from the United Nations Industrial Development Organization. 

United Nations Industrial Commodity Production Statistics Dataset, 1950-2003.  CD ROM Databset of industrial commodity production statistics from 1950-2003, measured as production sold of each commodity within each country or territory.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.