Skip to main content

International Government Data & Statistics: Development

Development Aid

Africa Development Indicators.  From the World Bank. Data on Africa, containing over 1,600 indicators, covering 53 African countries from 1961 to present.

Aid Data. Data from bilateral and multilateral agencies at the project level. Includes data visualization tools, articles on development aid and geo-coded data at the project level. See their replication datasets with articles on aid allocation & effectiveness.

Devinfo. Database system endorsed by the United Nations Development Group to facilitate data sharing across multiple UN agencies and countries: child protection, gender, migration, housing, censuses, and multiple countries around the world.  

d-Portal  From the International Aid Transparency Initiative. Comprehensive open source data from hundreds of national governments, NGOs and multilateral organizations,

Humanitarian OutcomesData from an independent group providing evidence-based analysis and policy consultation to governments and international organizations on humanitarian response efforts

International Aid Transparency Initiative.  Voluntary initiative that seeks to improve the transparency of aid, development, and humanitarian resources to increase effectiveness in tackling poverty.

International Food Policy Research Institute (IFPRI). Data on a variety of agricultural and resource topics, including  hunger and poverty, social capital, livestock and more;

Human Development Report Statistics. Development statistics from the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP). 

OECD iLibrary. Leading International Organization for Foreign Aid data. Includes International Development Statistics;as well as statistical databases on External Debt Statistics and Geographical Distribution of Financial Aid Flows to Developing Countries.

Open Aid Data. Detailed developing aid finance data from around the world combining data from various sources.

UN Data. Wide range of economic, social, cultural, and demographic indicators: population, environment, health, economics, technology, trade, refugees, and more.

U.S. Overseas Loans and Grants (Green Book). Loans and grants from the US government each fiscal year by purpose and country.

World Development Indicators. Time series data from 1960 for 207 countries in the areas of population, labor, education, economics, the environment and much more;

Poverty & Inequality

All the Ginis.  From the World Bank. Compilation and adaptation of Gini coefficients from multiple international organization and private income inequality studies.

Gini Estimates from the World Bank.  From the World Bank databank. Gine coefficients for many world countries from 1980 to present. 

Luxembourg Income and Wealth Databases.  Includesharmonised microdata on income, public transfers, taxes, household- and person-level characteristics, and more, as well as measures of wealth, for high and middle income countries. 

PovCalNetInteractive tool allowing users to replicate calculations made by World Bank's researchers in estimating the extent of absolute poverty in the world. 

Socio-Economic Database for Latin America and the Caribbean. From CEDLAS and the World Bank

World Income Inequality Database. Income inequalities at both cross-country and time series levels over the period from 1950 to recent years.

University of Texas Income Inequality Project.  Data from a small research group concerned with measuring and explaining movements of inequality in wages and earnings.

World Bank Poverty and Equity Data. Measures of poverty customized and taken from the World Bank databank.

World's Top Income Database.  Top income share time series for more than twenty countries to date, primarily from countries in Europe, North America and Developed Asia.

Debt and Investment

IMF Elibrary. Includes balance of payments and international investment position data of countries and regions as well as foreign direct investment data.  

International Debt Statistics. Statistical data for countries reporting public debt to the World Bank. Includes external debt stocks and flows and key debt ratios as well as new commitments, long-term debt, restructuring, and service projections, from 1960 to present.

UNCTADStat. From the United Nations Conference on Trade & Development. See also the World Investment Directory which offers FDI data by country.

U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis. International Investment Position. Detailed data on foreign direct investment involving the United States.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.