Africa Portal
Includes library of 3,000 materials related to policy issues in Africa, focusing on climate, conflict resolution, energy, food security, health and migration.
Africa South of the Sahara: Selected Internet Resources (Stanford)
African Studies Internet Portal (University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign)
Black Past: Remembered & Reclaimed
African Studies Virtual Library (Columbia University)
Michigan State University - A-Z of African Studies on the Internet
Africa South of the Sahara: Libraries/Archives
List of African Studies archives worldwide as compiled by Stanford University.
Africa Through a Lens
From the British National Archives, includes thousands of images taken from a broader photographic collection of Foreign and Commonwealth Office images. Coverage from 1860s to 1960s.
African Activist Archive
Includes records and memories of activism in the United States supporting activities of Africans against colonialism, apartheid, and social injustice from the 1950s through the 1990s.
African Digital Research Repositories Repositories within the African continent compiled by the International African Institute as a service to African studies research and scholarship.
Digital Somali Library (Indiana University)
The Digital Somali Library (DSL) provides full-text, online access to 137 books from Indiana University Bloomington's Somali collection.
Genocide Archive Rwanda
Includes videos relating to the 1994 Genocide against the Tutsi coupled with synchronized transcripts, searchable index terms, and maps. Videos include testimonies of Genocide survivors and perpetrators, Gacaca Justice System court proceedings, and remembrance ceremonies.
Liberian Collections (Indiana University)
Photos and papers of the history and culture of Liberia, including those of President William Tubman.
Traces of Truth: Documents Related to the South African Truth and Reconciliation Commission
Full-text access to records of the South African TRC, a project of the Historical Papers Archive of Witwatersrand University in Johannesburg and the South African History Archives Project.
University of Cape Town Digital Collections
Includes the Jacobson Digital Africana Program collection with historical maps of South Africa, anti-apartheid journals, Anthropological collections, theses, and UCT history.
Winterton Collection of East African Photographs, 1860-1960
Includes over 1,700 photographs showing life in East Africa from 1860-1960. Materials part of the Melville J. Herskovits Library of African Studies, Northwestern University.
Stanford University African Collection
Northwestern University, Melville J. Herskovits Library of African Studies
Cooperative Africana Microform Project (CAMP) at the Center for Research Libraries:
Most titles found in the Center for Research Libraries online catalog are also available via Next Gen Melvyl, and WorldCat for interlibrary loan. Guide to selected CAMP Collections includes finding aids.
Library of Congress African and Middle Eastern Reading Room
Yale University Library African Collection
Internet Library Sub-Saharan Africa
Catalog to books and articles held at major European universities and instititues focused on African Studies.
Africa Past & Present
Podcast hosted by Michigan State University covering history, culture, and politics in Africa and the diaspora. Includes interviews with leading scholars in the study of Africa.
H-Africa Discussion Network
Listserv and site for scholarly African Studies discussions. Great for book reivews, conference announcements and job postings. You must subscribe to the listserv, however notible threads and other information is obtainable from this site.