Library Guides: Bioengineering: Articles

Find articles by topic, authors, and other fields

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts in the fields of biomedicine and health, as well as portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.

PubMed includes MEDLINE, PubMed Central (PMC), other biomedical and life science journals, and the NCBI Bookshelf. PubMed also provides links to other NCBI molecular biology resources, including nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, 3-D protein structure data, population study data sets, and assemblies of complete genomes in an integrated system.
Note: The link above goes to a specially configured version of PubMed for UC Berkeley users that will display the Get It at UC button for full text article access. To use the free public version, please click here.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences and more.
Contains over 50 million records with more than half the content originating from outside North America. Indexes over 21,000 journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences, technology, medicine, arts, and humanities.
BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new window
Citations for journal articles, conference papers, and books on a wide variety of biological and biomedical topics. [1926 - present]
Indexes journals, books, and conference proceedings are indexed on a wide variety of biological and biomedical topics. An electronic version to the print counterparts, Biological Abstracts and Biological Abstracts/RRM.
Compendex This link opens in a new window
Access to this resource will be discontinued effective 12/31/23 due to library budget cuts. Please use Scopus as an alternative resource. Indexes journals, conferences, technical reports and other materials related to the engineering and technical literature. (Ei Compendex Plus) [1884 - present]
Encompasses civil, structural, and mechanical engineering disciplines, as well as related fields in science and management.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search across many disciplines and sources including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Lists journal articles, books, preprints, and technical reports in many subject areas (though more specialized article databases may cover any given field more completely). Can be used with "Get it at UC" to access the full text of many articles.
INSPEC This link opens in a new window
Access to this resource will be discontinued effective 12/31/24 due to library budget cuts. Please use Scopus as an alternative resource. Search citations for research literature in the fields of electronics, computer science, physics, and electrical, control, production, and mechanical engineering. [1898 - present].
Indexes scholarly journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, and dissertations in physics, electrical engineering and electronics, computers and control, and information technology.
SciFinderⁿ This link opens in a new window
Search the world's most comprehensive source of references, substances, and reactions in chemistry and related sciences.
Note: Restricted to UC Berkeley students, faculty, and staff. Requires creation of a personal account from an @berkeley.edu email address.
Indexes over 9,000 journals, patents, conferences, books, technical reports and dissertations related to chemistry, chemical engineering, materials science and the biomedical sciences. Relates to the print equivalent Chemical Abstracts.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Indexes leading journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences. Allows cited reference searching. (ISI Web of Knowledge) [1900 - present]
Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present).

Search Tips

Not happy with your results? Watch our video to learn how to:

expand your search if you are not finding enough results.
refine your search if you are finding too many results.

Where's the PDF?

Once you've searched an index to find articles, you may need to use Get it at UC to link to a PDF or html file if the full text is not immediately available. Each database is a bit different, but a good rule of thumb is:

When you see either icon, click on it to view your article access options (ex: full text, call number, Interlibrary Loan request, etc.)

Secondary menu

Bioengineering: Articles

Find articles by topic, authors, and other fields

Search Tips

Where's the PDF?