Skip to main content

Citation & Research Management: Best Practice: Best for Articles

Use a personal content management system to download records, format bibliographies, track citations, enter footnotes or endnotes, add pdfs - to your research.

Start with

Use the best databases for articles, reports, papers, government documents. Start with databases listed below, use this link for many more, http://guides.lib.berkeley.edu/bioscience-databases

Recommended

BIOSIS Previews
Biological and biomedical topics, includes literature reviews.
Coverage:1926 - present.

Business Source complete:
Articles on management, economics, finance, accounting, company profiles for top companies.
Coverage:1965 - present. Updated daily.

CAB Abstracts & Global Health
Agriculture, biodiversity, biotechnology, animal science, nutrition & food technology, crop production, natural resources, forestry, environmental policy, & rural development.
Coverage:1910 - present.

Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management
U.S. Environmental Impact statements, regulations and policies.
Coverage:1981 - Present.

Google Scholar
 - Lists
 articles, books, preprints, and reports. Specialized databases cover more completely.
 - Can be used with UC-eLinks to access the full text of many articles; click on "Scholar Settings", search Library Links for "Berkeley", and check boxes for "University of California Berkeley - UC-eLinks."
 - Some listings also include links to related articles and to other sources that cite the item.

PubMed
Use UCB access for UC eLinks to full text articles. Access to MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, other journals in medicine and life sciences.
Coverage: dates vary.

Scopus
Indexes journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences and more.

Web of Science
Indexes the arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences, citation search.
Coverage: 1900- present.

Statistics and Unique Data

Statista
A statistics portal that integrates data from reliable sources on thousands of topics
Categorized into market sectors, Statista provides access to quantitative facts on media, business, politics, and other areas. Sources of information include market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government sources. Data may be downloaded into spreadsheets and presentations. includes industry reports.

     UCB access only

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.