Library Guides: Civil & Environmental Engineering: Articles

Civil & Environmental Engineering Articles

The databases listed below include journal articles, technical reports, and conference papers in the subject areas of civil and environmental engineering. Use UC-eLinks (soon to be Get it at UC) to link out to full text when available.

For a full list of article databases, see our Article Databases page.

Compendex This link opens in a new window
All engineering topics.
Encompasses civil, structural, and mechanical engineering disciplines, as well as related fields in science and management.
ASCE Library This link opens in a new window
Indexes ASCE (American Society of Civil Engineers) journals back to 1995 and conference proceedings from 2005 on.
Links to the full text are provided for all papers. (ASCE Online Research Library)
Earthquake Engineering Abstracts (EEA) This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, conference papers, technical reports, maps, videos, slides, and computer files in the field of earthquake engineering and earthquake studies. [1971- present]. Note: This is part of the broader Materials Science & Engineering Database; however this link will take you to a search limited directly to the Earthquake Engineering Abstracts.
Covers structural dynamics, seismology, geology, architecture, political science, economics, planning, public policy, and hazards mitigation as they relate to earthquake studies.
TRID Database This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive bibliographic resource on transportation research. (TRIS Online)
TRID combines the records from TRB's Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD's Joint Transport Research Centre's International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
Covers all areas under the environmental sciences.
AES incorporates the formerly titled "Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management" database - which includes Environmental Impact Statements - plus the databases AGRICOLA (1970-current) and TOXLINE (1999-current).
INSPEC This link opens in a new window
All engineering topics.
Indexes scholarly journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, and dissertations in physics, electrical engineering and electronics, computers and control, and information technology.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
All science and engineering topics.
Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present).
Scopus This link opens in a new window
All science and engineering topics.
Contains over 50 million records with more than half the content originating from outside North America. Indexes over 21,000 journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences, technology, medicine, arts, and humanities.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search across many disciplines and sources including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Lists journal articles, books, preprints, and technical reports in many subject areas (though more specialized article databases may cover any given field more completely). Can be used with "Get it at UC" to access the full text of many articles.